Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


Just a warning before you read this. This review will contain slight spoilers and some huge ones. If you haven’t read this book yet, or ACOTAR, stop here and return to the home page.
I will give spoiler alerts but just so you know, if you don’t want them… please refrain from reading this review.

That said, here are my thought on ACOMAF; A Court of Mist and Fury.


thank-you

I should probably get down on my knees to applaud Sarah J Maas. She’s done it once again. Written a novel so packed with feels and thrills that I was dead-tired at the end of it by an overload of emotions.

Also, she has managed, yet again, to turn on of my ships into a NOTP. It drove me through a series of flashbacks of Chaolaena feels and remember how they turned out. It’s ridiculous but also so very clever.

In A Court of Mist and Fury, we see Feyre struggling with life after the events in Under The Mountain. Well…. struggling isn’t a good word. There were times I was convinced she was extremely depressed since she’s waking up from nightmares so strong she vomits up her guts the rest of the night. She’s forced into this role of housewife. A role that insures her to do nothing but planning parties, a wedding, dressing up like a doll and pretending all if well to anyone who isn’t part of the household.
And all that while Tamlin pretends to know nothing … the spineless little rot

I never really liked Tamlin *whoops* I did, however, feel like he and Feyre were cute together, no matter how condescending I found Tam in ACOTAR, and maybe they could have a happy ever after BUT AFTER THIS BOOK HOLY SHIT NO!! I HATE TAMLIN WITH A PASSION

As the days go on and the union between Feyre and Tamlin nears, Feyre feels more and more alone and worthless. She’s convinced that being packed away is what she deserves. She’s convinced that whatever Tamlin does is for her own good, so she lets him pamper her with gifts that only rip her apart. She turns a blind eye to the fact that he’s so wrong for her in so many ways. But when she walks down the aisle, prepared to be wed to Tamlin, she finds herself objecting to a life like that.
Scared out of her mind she begs for someone to save her, help her…. And so it happens that Rhys, after months of silence, finally swoops in to collect his bargain.

For a whole week, Feyre is located at a Moonstone Palace at the Night Court but instead of being confined to her rooms or to the Palace itself, she’s free to roam around. So different to her situation back home.
To make things even better -or worse, depending how you look at it from Feyre’s perspective- Rhysand teaches her how to read and write in addition to teaching her to keep her mental shields up in case someone would try to invade it.

The difference between the two Courts gives Feyre an edge. She sees how Tamlin treats her… but love is blinding. Suffocating at times. So when she returns she lets Tamlin smother her once more until the point of drowning.
Eventually, Feyre runs off and ends up staying at the Night Court, at the very Court that was once her sworn enemy. It’s there that she discovers the truth about the King of Hybern and his threat of war upon Prythian and the Mortal Realms beyond the wall. It’s there that Feyre discovers who she became after being Made immortal. It’s there she’s trained to her potential **SPOILER ALERT** It’s there she finds out the truth about Rhys and the bond between them. **END OF SPOILER**

There are so many reasons to read this book, to love it and live it. **SPOILER ALERT** At the end of ACOTAR I was so convinced of Rhys mating with Feyre that I ruined the whole experience for a friend of mine. She was a hardcore Tamlin/Feyre shipper and told me that there was no way in hell that Rhysand was going to ruin that…… you should hear her now xD **END OF SPOILER**

This book’ll drown you in emotions from the start. At first you’ll realize that the fairytale romance between Tamlin and Feyre wasn’t at all what we believed it to be… Tamlin is an ignorant, sexist and condescending little prick who cannot deal with his own problems and therefor shoves them onto Feyre who, in her turn, is drowning in her own misery. Lucien, although I kept believing in him throughout most of the book, can fuck it too.
Seriously, Sarah J Maas is the only author I know off that can make me love characters one minute and utterly despise them the next. And I consider Sebastian Verlac from the TMI series my son so that says a lot….

She’s definitely one of the most talented writers that I have come across. I can’t wait to see what she does with the last book in this series. The ending to ACOMAF was so darn epic that I was jumping up and down on the couch.
Feyre is so friggin badass at the end. I love her so much. She immediately shot to the top of my favorite female characters list.

And… omg…. the smutty sex scenes….. I NEED MORE OKAY!! I just… I need…. I want….. *giggles*

Daaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh I want book three right now. I want to know the end. I want to see more badassery from Feyre. I want to read!!!


I gave this book 5 stars. It’s a masterpiece en most definitely my favorite in this series and maybe even my favorite book from Sarah J Maas but then there’s also Crown of Midnight and Chaol Westfall will always have my heart no matter how much Rhys has a hold of it now….. *dilemma*

With love,
Leanne

Leave a comment