Victoria Schwab

Our Dark Duet

Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity, #2)THE WORLD IS BREAKING. AND SO ARE THEY.

KATE HARKER isn’t afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she’s good at it.

AUGUST FLYNN once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

THE WAR HAS BEGUN.

THE MONSTERS ARE WINNING.

Kate will have to return to Verity. August will have to let her back in. And a new monster is waiting—one that feeds on chaos and brings out its victims’ inner demons.

Which will be harder to conquer: the monsters they face, or the monsters within?


I’ve been having THE ABSOLUTE WORST year when it comes to reading. But that didn’t stop me from finally picking up part two of Monsters of Verity and actually finishing the series I once started with so much enthusiasm.

This Savage Song brought me into Kate Harker’s world which was dominated by her father and lots and lots of monsters. The Corsai (hungry for flesh and bone), the Malchai (thirsty for blood) and the Sunai (hunting for souls) are spread across Verity and after what happened to Kate and August, Kate needs to run for her life.
And that’s where Our Dark Duet picks it up.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor our dark duet quotes
@ZeitZuLesen

It’s been 6 months since Kate left Verity for the -somewhat- safety of Prosperity, but here too do monsters dwell and Kate’s been making herself useful. Along with a few teens, she hacks the web in a search for proof of monsters and hunts them in the night.
Meanwhile, August tries to do his best in Verity by keeping Sloan’s monsters at bay and keeping the FTF standing. But he too realises Leo was right…. at least in some way. The FTF doesn’t need a Sunai longing to be human. It needs someone to step up and be the image of a perfect monsters, the perfect protection.
But he loses himself to do it.

“The souls you take… Do they stay?”

On one of her nightly hunts, Kate stumbles across a monsters she’s never seen before. It doesn’t have a shape nor a maker (that she knows of) except for a pair of silver eyes. Before she knows it, it’s got its claws in her head and deep inside her mind where Verity and all its wonder and filth still lives. And there it can thrive and feed, so it vanishes without a trace.

Or so it may believe, for Kate’s mind had been intruded and -although- she fought her way out of his control, she now shares a link with him that can lead her directly to its hunting grounds. And so, after having ran for her life, Kate finds herself tracking back to her home.

“I don’t know”

I absolutely loved this book, and I ca’t believe it took me so damn long to get started on this because I was really into This Savage Song. I’m so glad that I finally decided it was time to finish the series and read about Kate’s story until the very end.

Our Dark Duet is a badass novel loaded with fighting, monsters, music and so much character development I can’t even!!! We watched Kate and August grow and crumble apart in This Savage Song and we experience August downfall even more in this book. The only one able to change his course is Kate, and the way she does it broke and healed my heart at the same time.
There’s so much music to Victoria’s words. She makes it feel real. I felt August torment and the rift that was wedged between him and his wish to be human. I felt Kate’s struggle with the Chaos Eater and just knew…. (click more to see spoilers)

And still it broke my heart and tore it to pieces.

“I don’t know if the souls stay with me, but I hope they do”

There’s so much to this story that I wish it had been a trilogy. I’m not ready to say goodbye to August and Kate just yet, although the ending was pretty neat. It’s one of the best endings I’ve read in a YA book. It’s not a closed ending but it’s not that open either, if you know what I mean, but it’s satisfying in some way.

I still have a million questions, though.

I guess they’ll have to wait until… maybe someday… Victoria will bless us with a novella or something.


I rated Our Dark Duet a 5/5 stars on GoodReads. I recommend it to everyone who loves a good monstrous read with great characters, a thrilling story and a shitstorm of feels.

With love,
Leanne

** Banner credits: @DutchBookChick

Leave a comment