About me

Favorite Villains

Hiya everyone!

It’s been a while since my last blogpost (again) and I apologize for my absence but it was for good reason.

Anyway, I’ve been wanting to write a post like this for a while now because of my enormous love of villains. I’d chose a well written villain over a hero any day, and have always been the only one amongst by bookish-friends to have favored the under dog or the murderous bad guy/girl.

So here are some badass villains taken from both books and movies.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the joker dark knight

The Joker
-Heath Ledger / The Dark Knight –

Let’s start this list of with a bang, shall we? One of the very first villains that caught my eye was Heath Ledger’s portrayal ofΒ The Joker in the second batman film. He gave me the shivers, and still does up until this very moment, but despite all his murderous intent and cunning deceivery, I love this character with all my heart.
He is so well written and well structured and most of that is thanks to Heath’s portrayal of him. It’s such a creepy criminal who has no motives, no reasoning behind his actions except for plain boredom.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor sebastian verlac will tudor

Sebastian Verlac
– Will Tudor / Shadowhunters –

So, this one should really not be excluded from this list. Although, I’m much more of a Sebastian fan bookwise than I am Tv show wise, he fits on this list both ways. Sebastian is actually one of my favorite characters because of the way he turned into a villain. I was fascinated by his story from the get-go. When we learned that Sebastian was experimented on before he was even born made me realise he never had a choice in the matter. Being born with demon blood makes you have villainous tendencies that even Valentine couldn’t handle.
Later on we also learn how harsh Valentine was against his own son (not to even mention his surrogate son Jace) while teaching him the basics of being a Shadowhunter. That whole backstory made me fall deeper and deeper in love with this character.

Yes I cried my eyes out when Sebastian was burned away and Jonathan had nothing left to survive upon


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor khalid ibn al rashid

Khalid Ibn Al-Rashid
– TWATD / Renee Ahdieh –

Even though Khalid is not really a villain, I do consider him one since he murdered all those girls and was intending to do the same to Shahrzad, and many others. He’s definitely a villain to Shahrzad at the beginning and for far longer in the eyes of the rebellion. But the more we get to know about him, the more I love him.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor aidan illuminae

A.I.D.A.N
– Illuminae / Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman –

This one gave me so many feels, I’m still not over it. After readingΒ Illuminae, I was so hungover that I just needed -actually I craved- part two;Β Gemina. Thankfully for me, it didn’t take two months before that was released and I could get my fix.

AIDAN is one of the best written villains out there in the YAL world. Everything he does is out of the blue and totally expected at the same time. You might ask yourself how a character could do that but trust me, there’s a way.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor ulquiorra schiffer

Ulquiorra Schiffer
– BLEACH / Kubo –

Ulquiorra is one of my fave villains taken from Anime. He’s one of the Arrancar in BLEACH that guard their master and the equipment that makes Hollows into stronger versions of themselves. He’s the most broody of the bunch and one of the most powerful but he has feelings and thoughts of his own that make him into a pouty, moody arrancar who sees Ichigo (the hero) for who he is but fights for his own freedom.
He’s a villain due to the darkness v.s light kind of thing, not because he wants to kill everyone and be all powerfull.

I love that about him.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor lucifer supernatural

Lucifer
– Supernatural / Mark Pellegrino –

I have so much love for this villain. Mostly because of how Mark portrays the devil but also because he acts for (whatever he sees as) all the right reasons. He believes he’s doing the right thing by rebuilding earth and releasing hell.
Combine that with a sassy attitude and you’ve got yourself on hell of a character.


I’m going to end this post here.
Six villains will do for now but there’s many more to reveal.

With love,
Leanne

Leave a Reply

