Melissa Grey

The Savage Dawn

The Savage Dawn (The Girl at Midnight, #3)The sides have been chosen and the battle lines drawn. 

Echo awakened the Firebird. Now she is the only one with the power to face the darkness she unwittingly unleashed . . . right into the waiting hands of Tanith, the new Dragon Prince. Tanith has one goal in mind: destroy her enemies, raze their lands, and reign supreme in a new era where the Drakharin are almighty and the Avicen are nothing but a memory.

The war that has been brewing for centuries is finally imminent. But the scales are tipped. Echo might hold the power to face the darkness within the Dragon Prince, but she has far to go to master its overwhelming force. And now she’s plagued by uncertainty. With Caius no longer by her side, she doesn’t know if she can do it alone. Is she strong enough to save her home and the people she loves? 

Whether Echo is ready to face this evil is not the question. The war has begun, and there is no looking back. There are only two outcomes possible: triumph or death.


Hiya everyone!

It’s been a very long time since I’ve posted, sadly. Work’s been crazy and my energy levels quite low so I haven’t been working behind the laptop for ages!!

But I’m back again with a new read (which was a new release but not so much anymore)

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor melissa grey quotes

Because of crazy workhours, I’ve also been refrained from reading. Nothing could keep me interested or drawn into the story. Nothing kept me turning the page and so another reading slump was born BUT HALLELUJAH there was the delivery guy (a very cute delivery guy, I might add) with a newly released book in one of my fave series.

The Savage Dawn is the last book in The Girl At Midnight series. Something I’ve been anticipated since I first started reading the series. The last book left us at quite the cliffhanger; Caius had been abducted by his sister, Tanith let the Kuçedra in, Echo was hit by darkness, The Nest was destroyed and so on. Now back at Avalon, a safe place for Avicen and runaway Drakharin, we find Echo in the midst of getting Caius back. She and Rowan are trying to put together ingredients for a tracking spell.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor melissa grey quotes

I won’t give you any spoilers but I will let you know that shit’s about to go down in this book. Everything that can possibly go wrong, goes to hell. It’s a grand finale to the build-up suspension in its prequels.

Evenso, I didn’t really like it 😦
I used to blame it on my reading slump… that I just couldn’t get into it but after a while -when I started skipping some chapters- my reading session went by smoothly. To me it felt like some of the pacing is really slow and there are holes in the story that I didn’t really understand. It felt like the build-up of suspense -that had a gentle incline in the previous books- was zig-zagging throughout the book.

Stuff happened out of the blue (and maybe this is due to my skipping parts but even then I skimmed the fragments I skipped to make sure I didn’t miss anything vital to the story) and the whole endgame fight scene didn’t really feel that badass anymore. It felt flat and not so scary. It was over before I knew it. I wished Melissa had spent more time on this ending and the endgame fighting than she did on tracking down Caius and the Ivy POV chapters.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor melissa grey

That said, it is a nice ending to a great series. I may not agree with some things that happened throughout the ending but that’s my personal opinion :p It didn’t really give me any sense of closure (not even in the way an open ending should) and I even went online to check if I had made a mistake and this trilogy was actually a series….

But nope… it’s not.


I rated this book 3 out of 5 stars. It’s not the worst ending out there but I didn’t love it either. It was to this-and-that to me. Too many POV’s that couldn’t keep me interested and too slow for a book that doesn’t include a lot of action. Some of the actions happened too easily, others didn’t really make any sense and the ending didn’t satisfy. It was good but it didn’t give me any closure.

It gave me Ignite Me vibes, if you know what I mean :p

With love,
Leanne

Leave a Reply

