About me · Book talk

Being up all night reading

Hiya Everyone!

So.. the title might have already suggested that I was up all night reading.
And hell yeah! I was.

Problem was, however, I had to work the next day. And the day after.

Oops!

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor sleepy gif

We’ve all been there, haven’t we? Getting your hands on a brand new book (or a beloved old one) and start reading it a little too close to bedtime, only to stay up well into the night and realizing you’re Oh So Screwed! because the alarm will sound in less than 5 minutes.

It happened to me last week when I decided it was time for a reread ofΒ A Court of Mist and Fury, one of my favorites. I thought I would only read a few chapters before heading off to bed but NOPE. Before I knew it I had finished the whole thing and it was 6.55am, only minutes away from my alarm.
I was dead-tired but I could only damn myself as I walked into the shower like a zombie and got ready for work.

Since my day went as epically as it could go (I remember walking into a few doors, falling asleep on my way there, screwing up orders and being over-the-top slow) I decided it was time to learn from my mistakes and help you guys, as my fellow readers, by giving tips on how to get through a day after pulling an all-nighter.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor sleepy gif


1. Make sure you hoard all the caffeine. ACTUALLY HOARD IT!

To anyone who has trouble getting up in the morning, caffeine is their best friend. It could be in the form of a cup of coffee or a nice cup of tea but in this case, it’s probably best to stock up on coffee, tea or energy drink and just chug the stuff.

Okay, okay… don’t actually chug the stuff because that’s bad for you. A sugar rush is only nice when it lasts all day and nothing can accomplish that, so hoard it and load up on it in the form of a thermos, a huge bottle or just dump it all into one bag and take that with you to work.
Every time you feel like you could fall asleep you drink a cup of coffee, down a can of energy drink or take a nice cup of tea. It’ll help you clear away the droziness and remain a little clearer throughout the day.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor coffee gif


2. Set your playlist to; Keep Me Awake!

When I got into the train to leave for work, I faced me first problem. I had survived the getting out of bed part, got through the cold shower and even managed to get to the train station somehow but when I settled in on the train, my eyes got droopy and sleep finally caught up with me.

The best thing to do at that moment is to take your phone and go to the music app/program you’re using and select a death metal playlist or another music genre that has loud and obnoxious sounds, that will definitely keep you awake and alert.
I was getting crankier by the minute but at least I was awake enough to get from A to B and go to work.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor music gif


3. Keep yourself busy.

Now this is crucial if you want to make it to closing time. Thank the Gods, I have a horeca job and it’s usually always busy around Easter and the holidays. I had enough to do and enough people to serve, enough dishes to clean and co-workers to talk to.

If you let yourself slow down, you’ll fall asleep. So find yourself a new task to complete, offer your help to the cooks, the bus-boy or the other servers or find yourself something to clean.
And if you don’t work in a similar environment to mine, make yourself usefull by helping you co-workers in every way possible or and keep yourself from thinking about counting sheep, letting your eyes close or feel the sweet relief of a power nap.

says the girl who thought power napping was actually a thing and fell asleep during her 15-minute break whoops.


4. Think happy thoughts.

All I could think about that day was eitherΒ ACOMAFΒ  and how it actually ruined my life or my bed and how good it would feel to get into my PJs, and just sleeeeeeeeeeep.

The sooner I got rid of those thoughts, I could focus better on my job. I just ignored the fact that I was tired, stood there like a zombie and had to actually think about forming words before they could get passed my lips.

For the first time -and the last- I’m telling you to listen to Elsa from frozen.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor conceal don't feel gif

Conceal the exhaustion, don’t feel the tiredness and try not to let it show too much. It’s okay if your coworkers know how much you got lost in a -not suitable for younger readers novel that is just impossible to put down- book and forgot to sleep. But it’s best if your customers or clients or whatnot don’t notice you sleeping behind the counter.


And those are my tips for all of you who are just as easily swept away by a book as I am.
I hope they are as usefull to you as they were to me.

I did not make it through the day… whoops

With love,
Leanne

2 thoughts on “Being up all night reading

Leave a Reply

