Book talk · Tags

The #SchoolSubjects Book Tag

Hiya everyone!

I’ve been wanting to do another book tag for a while now and, fortunately, I was tagged by the amazing Marie from the KookBookery ❤ Her own answers to the questions in this tag were fun to read and some of the books were unfamiliar to me so I could add a few to my TBR 😀

* looks at the giant pile of TBR books *

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor whoops gif

Also, it was brought to my attention that Not So Modern Girl is the creator of this tag, so please check out her blog, too 🙂

Let’s get started, shall we?


1.png

I’ve read soooooooooooo many books that left my head spinning, I can’t even remember which one was the worst. But steering away from my usual answers (e.g. Illuminae, TWATD, Shadow Kiss, Lux and Clockwork Princess) I want to talk about how much of a mess I was after I read The Perks of Being a Wallflower. 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

I read this book a couple of years ago when I first started reading intensely and immensely, and I remember relating to Charlie so so much. So much stuff about myself became clear and learning more about Charlie as a person left me feeling hungover for weeks after the book ended. It’s such a thought provoking book that I couldn’t let it go. Months after I finished it, I was still thinking about certain parts of the book.
And then the movie was released and the whole process began anew.

The book has become one of my top favorites and I still love it to death each time I reread it.


2

I don’t know about expressions but I do know books that have incredible discriptive writing in them. One of my favorites that uses a lot of discriptive writing is The Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare.

And by Shadowhunter Chronicles I mean all her books about Shadowhunters. She uses lots and lots of discriptions in her books to tell us how significant buildings look like or the demons and monsters that pop up in them. Or the weaponry the shadowhunters use… it’s amazing. It’s part of the reason why I love those books so much.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor shadowhunters


3

That would, beyond any doubt, be Chubs from The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken. He’s the closest to any scientifically minded character that I know of and favoritise.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor chubs the darkest minds

@TDMWiki

Chubs is one of the main characters in the books and is Liam’s best friend. He’s the only one wary enough of Ruby that he wants her out the minute she joins their little group of misfits. But overtime he and Ruby become really good friends and even save each other from certain death once or twice.
Chubs is my fave of the series because he’s the only one balsy enough to stand up for himself and for his friends. He does what he has to and says what he has to to keep the group together as a family and protect everyone.

I should really reread the series soon. It’s been so (too) long.


4.png

Okay… haha…. ehm…. I have my fair share of bookish OTP’s and have a shitload of lesser ships that I still ship pretty hardcore. So this question is going to be hard.
Harder than you might think.

The biggest baddest OTP I’ve had is Evak. But also Bellarke.
Which are both ships from TV shows and only one of them stems from books.
And I hate them in those books…..

So sticking to my ships that only exist in the books I read, I’d have to choose between the following ships:

Khalid x Sharzhad
Chaolaena (Yes… I know it sank but I still ship it…. fml)
Feyrhys
Malec
Cal x Mare
Romitri
Elorcan

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor impossible gif

So yeah…. I’m not going to chose.


5

There are a lot of characters whom I consider my favorite and there’s never been a time in which I considered one my all-time favorite character. But I do have characters that I tend to obsess over more than others at times.

Those characters are:

Chaol Westfall (he will forever be my bae no matter how much shit he pulled)
Lorcan Salvaterre
Rhysand
Daemon Black
Khalid Ibn Al-Rashid
Jonathan Christopher Morgernstern
William Herondale
Feyre Archeron
Elide Lochan
Raven Reyes
Clarke Griffin
Bellamy Blake
Amani

I love all of them ❤


6

Since The Netherlands has way too few really good programs, books or films I always end up watching something foreign.
So instead of using a foreign program, film or book I want to use this space to talk about one thing (within the categories) that I liked that was made or written by a Dutch hand and/or mind.

Book:
I own a couple of Dutch books and some of them are precious to me, and one of them I cherish in particular. It’s called De Rode Princess, which is a children’s story about a princess with flaming red hair who gets abducted by three bandits.
Because no one outside the palace’s walls has ever seen the princess, the civilians plan to collect the award money the royals have put out by training a peasant daughter and sending her into the castle walls.
Wonder above wonder, the king and queen don’t see the differences between the peasant’s daughter and their own, and so they accept her into their home and are completely oblivious to the fact that their own daughter is still imprisoned by the bandits.
But the princess manages to win the heart of one of the bandits as they become good friends, and he lets her go before his brothers get their hands on her.

I wish it was translated into more languages. It’s so good, it deserves to be out there for more readers to enjoy.

De rode prinses

Film:
One of the best Dutch films I have ever seen is Zwartboek. It’s about a Jewish woman trying to survive during the Second World War. Instead of going into hiding, she -by mistake- joins up with the rebellion and helps them by spying on her German employer who works for the military.
Of course everything goes to hell when they find out who she truly is.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor zwartboek

Program:
We don’t have a lot of Dutch shows that I actually want to spend time on and watch every evening or week. But at the end of last year there was a Dutch TV show that drew me in and had me anticipating every episode. It was called: Als De Dijken Breken.
It was about what would happen if our dikes would give out. It would be pretty disastrous if that were ever to happen.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor als de dijken breken


7

To be completey honest?? Yes, I have. But I was always convinced otherwise by reading reviews or talking to other readers about those books. It’s how I ended up reading a few of the books that I’m now a proud owner of.

A book cover has to be intriguing to me. It has to draw my attention and be enticing or thrilling in some way. It has to spark an interest before I feel like taking it with me for reading.

For example, I would not have read the Lux series had it not kept popping up on the recommendation section over on GoodReads because the first cover is nothing but two figures standing back to back with some lightning at the back.
It reminded me of those cheap romance novels you can buy at the supermarket.

But take illuminae, for example. It’s like a file come to life, giving you little snippets of what’s inside. When I received the book, I wanted to start it right away.


8

Coincidentally, my last historical read was a Dutch novel. It’s called De Guillotine and is written by Simone van der Vlugt. I even did a review on it which you can read here.

De guillotine by Simone van der Vlugt


9.png

There haven’t been booktags without this questions, lately. And I think my answer to this question changes every time I come across it.

There are a few places I would like to visit, at the moment.

Prythian
Hogwarts
Idris
And… you know… wherever Chaol Westfall is..


10

I think we can all agree that Shakespeare is a dramatic through and through. In almost all his plays there’s a romance and almost all the time that romance grows and explodes within the span of a few days.

Especially Romeo and Juliet….
I mean… come on… those teens met, fell deeply (disturbingly so) in love, were torn apart and died for each other within the span of a week.
If that isn’t overly dramatic than I don’t know what is….

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor romeo and juliet gif


And now for the tagging, I would like to tag the following to do this tag:

Samodiva Reads

TwinReads

Book Haunt

Building Diverse Bookshelves

A Thousand Lives

Have fun everyone!

With love,
Leanne

22 thoughts on “The #SchoolSubjects Book Tag

  1. Thank you for your kind words! 😀 OMG! I shipped Chaolaena too and I’ve only read the first book but my friend has told me that it has indeed sunk. T___T I had a lot of problems with the book but I kept going because of Chaol. I don’t even know why I love him. Haha. I’m really afraid to start the second one because I still want it to be Chaol even though we know that’s never gonna happen. 😦

    Also, De Rode Princess sounded really interesting. I had fun reading your answers, 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMGGGG you should definitely continue with the ToG series!! Even though you’re in for a lot of pain when you’re a Chaol fan (like me YAY) it’s all worth it. I had major troubles getting through the first book as well but it gets better in CoM and then even more in HoF and so on. We’re currently on the fifth book, which doesn’t have Chaol in it (not a spoiler… he’s just … not in it…. *cries*) BUT WE GET A WHOLE NOVEL WORTH OF CHAOL IN RETURN *does a happy dance*

      So yeah… plz keep reading the series :p Trust me, you’ll come to love it ❤

      Like

        1. YAAAY

          ehm… no… not really 😦 It broke, burned and sank down faster than the speed of light and -due to circumstances I can’t explain because of spoilery content- it won’t be canon again…

          * see me dying of heartbreak in the background *

          BUT… fear not… I have found a new OTP within the series and ship them just as hard as I do Chaolaena and Celaena isn’t even a part of it xD

          Like

            1. Ahhh noooowss 😦 It sucks when your ship doesn’t survive… I still have to read Matched. It’s been on my TBR for ages…

              Haha deal! I can give you a hint, though… you’ll meet both characters in Heir of Fire ^^ And they’re both badass as hell but also two very precious cinnamon rolls that need to be protected at all costs ❤

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

