Book talk

Top 10; Books I Disliked.

Hiya!

I’ve seen a thread going over BookTube about books that readers disliked.
The idea intrigued me and I wanted to do it too.
For an example you can visit LilyReads on BookTube. Just click on her name and you’ll be linked to her video about the books she disliked.

Anyway, as a prior notice… I won’t hate on the books nor do I want to offend anyone by ripping on their (possibly) favorite books. Everyone is allowed to like something or to dislike something and I’m only writing about the books I wouldn’t easily recommend to people.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor shrug gif

Here we go:


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor The covenant series
@ALittleBitOfLife

10. The Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

I read this series a while back after I had raced through Lux, both series written by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I was so crazy about Lux that I needed more of Jennifer’s writing and tumbled into The Covenant Series.
Even though I liked the story initially, it became too much like another favorite series of mine, namely: Vampire Academy. It has the same elements; a half-blood runaway student from an all-in academy, an older guardian who becomes her mentor so that she can make up for lost time, she becomes one of the best, they fall in love, it’s a forbidden love that they need to hide and so forth.
I could ignore it pretty well but then the story became a continuous loop of the same plottwists and all its potential went down the drain with it. And so did my attention span. I couldn’t even get through the last novel without being able to predict every single little thing and dropped it somewhere in the middle. I leafed through the ending and when that didn’t surprise me either, I put the books down.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor nemesis anna banks

9. Nemesis by Anna Banks.

You may remember I read this book after getting it in my very first Fairyloot subscription box and posted a review on it shortly after.

Although I did like some parts of this novel, I wouldn’t recommend it to other readers simply because it didn’t fascinate me. There was no suspence in this book. Everything went by pretty smoothly. There wasn’t a great build-up, the characters were pretty bland and not much made much sense.

I liked the idea of the world but that was pretty much it.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the maze runner books

8. The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner.

There were some good parts but also some very bad parts to this bookseries. For starters, Thomas is a very unlikeable characters in my opinion. He makes all the wrong choices, asks a question about every single damn thing and then reveals himself to be the mastermind behind all that’s happening.

Okay.. he had some memory loss prior to the ordeal but still… I ain’t buying it.
Also, the writing style wasn’t that appealing to me. It was too simplifiedand unrealistic… I wouldn’t recommend the books soon BUT I would definitely recommend watching the movie. That one is awesome ^^


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the magisterium books series

7. The Magisterium Series by Cassandra Clare & Holly Black.

You probably heard of this book and the series it belongs to. And since I’m a huge Cassie Clare fan, it was a big surprise to me that I came to truly dislike this book. It was everything I didn’t expect in a Cassie Clare book.
Even though it’s a co-writing and I wasn’t familiar with Holly Black before reading it… I still came to hate it. Yes… hate it.

I remained pretty casual in my review but every time I see this book pop up I want to forget I ever read the damn thing.
Entering into the CC fandom through her Shadowhunter books, I quickly stumbled upon her fanfiction writing days and the troubles she has with the Harry Potter fandom. Supposedly, The Mortal Instruments is nothing but a flimsy HP fanfiction. Now.. I didn’t see the similarities -and still don’t- so I chose to ignore all that hate and negativity.

BUT… after reading this sorry excuse for a book, I couldn’t ignore it any longer. This book became more and more like Harry Potter the further I got. There was a point in time where I couldn’t tell the two apart (aside from HP being waaaaaaaaaaay more awesome and incredible and so on).
I mean… there’s a magic school for wizards, there’s a main trio consisting out of two boys and a girl, the girl has rossy brown hair and knows everything, the main character owns a pet, they have dormrooms, they have to attend school for seven years, there’s a dark lord who has followers and who wants to life forever, that same dark lord disappeared mysteriously several years ago, and our main character finds out he posesses similar abilities to those of the dark lord…..

Sounds familiar, right?

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor bored gif


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the sweet trilogy

6. The Sweet Trilogy by Wendy Higgins.

Another trilogy I wouldn’t recommend to anyone is The Sweet Trilogy by Wendy Higgins. It’s something I started reading because it had so many mentions in the Lux series, and everything Jennifer wrote or read was golden to me at that time.
So something she enjoyed so much as to refer to it in her books must be one hell of a bookseries.

Or so I thought.

Once I began book one I realized it wasn’t something for me. The world was too alien for me. Demons, apparently, were bosses of certain types of sins and their offspring should be dealing in those sins so hell could keep gaining souls… or whatever.
It was so strange. Especially when the leading lady meets her father, who is boss of the Alcohol consuming sin. But instead of being this allmighty demon, he’s actually really nice and wants to protect his daughter from harm. He even recognizes her attraction to Lust’s son, whom can’t settle with her because he has to deal in sex and she has to keep herself pure for some reason and…. it all got a little confusing somewhere.

I simply gave up after two books.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the immortals bookseries

5. The Immortals series by Alyson Noël.

Although I loved book one very very much, the series became one bland mess after that. Book two I could handle still but it definitely lost its appeal. Book three ruined the deal and I didn’t even finish book 4. It was a continuous loop of the same stories, the same feelings, the same epihanies and the same plottwists. It was always Damon going AWOL, or getting ill, or Ever having to face his ex girlfriend, or having to save him from poison or whatnot.
I gave it four books and then I stopped. It just wasn’t worth my time anymore.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the selection trilogy

4. The Selection trilogy by Kiera Cass.

I have a very complicated relationship with these books. I used to hate them with a passion but I also couldn’t put them down. The reason they’re on number 4 is because of all the frustration I went through while reading them.
I have yet to come across someone more irritating and more stupid than America as a main character. Even Bella Swan wasn’t this thick or shallow.
And don’t even get me started on the writing style.
Every single thing that was even a little exciting didn’t have any pull through. Nothing was closed, everything was smoothed over and EVERY SINGLE THING WAS ULTIMATEDLY A ‘CONVENIENT PLOT IS CONVENIENT’ AND I JUST WANT TO FLIP A TABLE AND BURN SOMETHING

You see? That’s what this series does to me. It frustrates me to no end. There is a world of layers in the books but instead of peeling them and getting to the core ALL KIERA DOES IS LOOK AT THEM AND TELL YOU HOW THEY LOOK WITHOUT TOUCHING THEM AND I JUST WANT TO THROW MYSELF OFF A NEARBY CLIFF.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor frustrations gif
But I do admit they have an appeal. I really couldn’t put them down and read them all within two days. I can see why people like them but all I wanted to do was reach inside the pages and throttle America until her back was sore, her hair was a mess and grab Maxon for myself because, dayum girl, that boy deserves sooooooooooo much better.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor breakable tammara webber

3. Breakable by Tammara Webber.

Remember all those sequels to Disney movies? Like Cinderella and Pocahontas? Remember they did nothing good to their prequels that you loved and cherished? Instead they ruined the whole thing and left you lying on the floor crying your eyes out and wishing you had never seen what you just watched??

Well… Breakable is a lot like that.
Easy is one of my favorite books of all time because it handles huge themes such a rape in a casual and non-dramatic way. It has helped me understand a lot about myself and about what happened to me a few years back.
Learning that there would come a book that told us Lucas’ point of view of the story, I was beyond excited.

But it destroyed everything I felt and more when I read Easy.
To me Lucas was this kind and caring person who really took an interest in helping Jacqueline deal with her break-up and the guilt she carried after she got raped by one of her friends. I really thought that he wanted to help her… no strings attached and that it was sweet that he had already been attracted to her before everything happened.
But it wasn’t like that. Reading from his POV made it pretty clear to me that, although he meant well, he was nothing but a boy trying to get her into his bed. He fell in love through the process of talking her up but I was repulsed by his behavior and never did I expect that to happen.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the trylle trilogy

2. The Trylle trilogy by Amanda Hocking.

Much like The Selection, this trilogy frustrated me to no end. But unlike The Selection, I couldn’t find one likeable aspect about the books. I couldn’t stand the main character (okay.. I understood her inability to know anything) and hated her surroundings even more. No one ever told her anything but expected her to know everything.
The whole world, the whole idea behind changelings…. I know the myths and I craved for books about them but this one was a sad sad retelling of a changeling myth.
The romance felt weird from the beginning, the characters were pretty grey, the storyline didn’t progress all that much and by the end of it I just wanted to rip the books into tiny little shreds…

Instead I donated them to someone who was curious and was glad to be rid of them.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the bluest eye

1. The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison.

This is -by far- the most dreadful thing I have ever had to read in my entire life. We had to read it for school, and as far as those reads go they usually don’t end up being liked, but keeping an open mind towards it, I was still horrified by it. And not in a good way.

It’s a book that deals with very huge themes such as slavery and abuse but it deals with them in the most graphic way possible. And it would have been a great book with its realism but it was told in…. such…. a…… slow….. way…. that…… it…… took…… me……. 4…… whole…… months…… to get through this bloody thing. The writing is so slow paced, it was painful to me. It’s a really thin book but it took me so incredibly long to get through it and I didn’t even like the story all that much. There was no plotpoint. There was no build-up to something. Everything was steady and still with some bumps here and there.

It was just ugh….


And that’s it for my top 10 most disliked books.
Don’t hate on me too much for disliking a book you may or may not love.

With love,
Leanne

Leave a Reply

