Victoria Averyard

King’s Cage

King's Cage (Red Queen, #3)Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.


I’ve been waiting a year for this book to be released and find out what happened to Mare after that horrid ending in Glass Sword, only to stumble in a new hellish cliffhanger. So prepare yourselves for a joyride full of feels, emotions, gasps, heart attacks and endless fits of shouting at your book because this one is ABSOLUTE HELL.

AND THIS BOOKSERIES FINALLY HAS ITS OWN MAP 😀

King’s Cage is the third installment in the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard. It picks up a few days after Maven took Mare from the rebellion and brought her to Whitefire to show her off and dangle her in front of the people. After everything, Mare has become yet another royal’s pawn in the continuous game to get power. Or stay in power. In Maven’s case it’s keeping claim of his throne and downplay the lure of The Scarlett Guard.

“Do you really think I have any ambition to become your -or anyone’s- queen?”.

Tortured by the combination of silence coming from silver Arven’s and the Silent Stone that circles her wrists and ankles, Mare is forced to live under Maven’s oppressive thumb and struggle through every day. Still, she tries everything to go against him. To stay strong. To stay her own. But it’s hard. Especially when no one around you wants to see you alive. Or when whispers are itching to get into your head and show you your inner demons.

And it gets even worse. Maven is loosing his sanity. Paranoid by nearly successful attempts on his life and weakened by his distrust, Maven can only protect Mare to  certain level. His love for her becomes an obsession. His lust for the crown becomes desperation, and it drives him to alliances that could possible mean the end of The Scarlett Guard and, in result, Mare’s life.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor king's cage quotes
@GoodReads

On the other side of the country, The Scarlett Guard is doing everything it can to keep the lands they own while laying claim to silver lands. They need to band together to stretch their borders, and save more Newbloods and innocent Reds. They need to keep fighting, even though one of their own is currently suffering Maven’s cage.

“If your heart’s not in this, you’re going to get a lot of people killed.”
He whirls, almost knocking me on my ass with the speed and force of his movement. I have seen his fire firsthand, but never so strongly as the flame blazing in his eyes.
“Cameron, my heart is quite literally in this,” he hisses through gritted teeth.

After not really getting into Glass Sword until the end, this third book really caught me by surprise. I expected another novel full of Mare’s inner struggle, and sitting through her making endless mistakes by putting her trust in a boy that never was. But it was anything BUT that.

Instead King’s Cage gave me badass Mare who has finally made up her mind about what’s important and what needs to be done. I regret Shade had to die for her to clear her mind, and the pain of his death still lingers in this installment. It’s become a huge twitst in Mare’s life and all she’s done up until this point is for his sake.
I really like her as a character now. I have come to love her as the main character and come to understand her choices a little better.
Where I thought her a whiny teenager in the previous book, she’s grown up so much in King’s Cage. I understood her actions. It also felt like I could understand Maven a little better because of that.

And that’s what I like most about this book. The series gave me the basics in the previous two books but gave me the ability to dig into characters now. The third book gives us three POV’s:
– Mare’s.
– Cameron’s and,
– Evangeline’s.
I was so excited when I saw Evangeline’s name below the chapter’s indication. She’s been an interesting character from the start and for once we get to read from her standpoint. See how she’s like and why she acts the way she does. She’s become one of my fave characters now.
Cameron…. I’m not so sure. I didn’t really think much of her in Glass Sword so getting to read from her POV didn’t really do much for me. I didn’t understand why we got her as a main either. In my opinion, reading from Farley’s POV would’ve been a lot more interesting.
Also, I just wanted to read from Cal’s POV but I won’t nag about that because I kind of understand why Victoria chose not to do that. Especially considering the ending…..

THAT. HORRENDOUS. FREAKING. ENDING. I. SWEAR!!!!

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor HEAVY BREATHING GIF

I knew it couldn’t last… the happy… the victory…. the giddiness…

BUT I WANTED IT SO BADLY TO LAST….

“Mare,” he whispers. “Choose me.”

I knew it was going to come. A bomb was going to drop somehow, someway because in a series the third book usually ends in horror but everything was still (kind off) happy when I didn’t have that much pages left, so I was feeling good about it. I was preparing myself for a minor cliffhanger…..

Can you imagine my heart shattering into a million little pieces while crying buckets and buckets worth of tears while reading that ending?? Because it did and I haven’t been able to concentrate on anything else since.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor somebody sedate me gif

I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars. It’s my fave book from the series and I keep wishing it was February 2018 already. I need part 4. Now.

With love,
Leanne

11 thoughts on “King’s Cage

  1. I enjoyed it so much! I keep reading negative reviews of the series and always think the reviewers make really good points, but then I love the stories so much and couldn’t put this one down. Absolutely agree that Mare has grown up a lot here – I found her much more engaging than in the previous two books. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I noticed the negativity too 😦 It even made me a little hesitant to continue the series. Especially after not really liking the second book but because I was attached to certain characters *cough* Farley and Cal *cough* I had to keep on reading.

      I’m so happy you enjoyed it so much 😀 I don’t know that many people who enjoy the series so thanks for dropping the comment ^^ It’s always nice to meet another fan 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel you! T__________T And the sad thing is, I can’t hate Cal and Mare. Because of this book, I really got to know them so I understood their choices. But dang, my heart is still broken. I can’t move on.

    Like

    1. Exactly! And now I can’t even predict how it all continues. Last cliffhanger was okay-ish (still hurt like hell) and I was pretty sure Mare would return to her family soon enough… but now….. now I don’t know what to think *cries* I just…. I need my babies to be together and happy 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Completely agree with you! I have fallen in love with King’s Cage, it’s by far the best in the series, and now 2018 seems like 10 years away. :/

    I was taken aback by Evangeline getting a chapter, and I was thinking there is no way Aveyard can make me feel anything for her character, but she has not 100% changed my mind but I understand her character a lot better now.

    I’ve just finished my review if you are interested in giving it a little look. 🙂
    http://wp.me/p3AwwF-Lm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

