Season 2 · Series · Shadowhunters

Shadowhunters s2; Episode 4

Hiya everyone!

Another week, another episode of Shadowhunters. Now, I wasn’t as excited for this episode as I was for the episodes before this one. The promo video kind of ruined it for me and the overly promotion of a character death put a really big damper on the whole experience.

BUT, putting my expectations aside, I was -yet again- pleasantly surprised by this week’s episode.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor shadowhunters season 2

This was the first episode that was written by a different set of scriptwriters. They managed to keep the overall feel of the show in it while taking their own spin on it. It was like this episode flowed more. Things make sense, if you know what I mean.
In earlier episodes the scenes always seemed a bit flaky or disconnected from each other. For example; Clary having to stop from escaping to get to talk to Jace about something trulyu unrelated… or Simon being sidetracked to take care of his mother.
It felt like they finally realized there were better things to focus on. It was the first time since I started watching this show that I actually asked questions about what would happen next. I was intrigued by the storyline and could finally connect to the characters.

I have yet to finish The Bane Chronicles but the background story of Magnus and Camille was a nice touch to get me to relate to Magnus and feel for him. Also, the addition of Magnus’ and Raphael’s relationship in this episode is what truly bring me relief. It gives me hope for the rest of the season.
Why? Because I get the feeling the writers are actually trying to get to know their characters and they’ve stopped trying to hasten things through or stuff our faces full with certain aspects of certain characters.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor shadowhunters season 2

I’m not sure how to feel about (another) infiltration in the Institute since it’s sacred ground and everything demonic can’t enter but it’s easy to overlook since we’ve seen Magnus walk around like the Queen he is and Simon too.
But is it meant to distract the Institute from being alerted of whatever is happening in The City of Bones? It wasn’t really clear because we don’t see Valentine actually experimenting on that demon or whatever it was.
Don’t get me wrong, I like this kind of mystery but these kind of connections are what’s still a little lacking in the show. It’s already flowing but for it to rise above anything like The 100 or Outlander or any other great TV show it still needs to mature a little.

I also wish they wouldn’t use the NYPD as much. Like… it has little to no meaning in the show. Sure… Luke is a cop but all he does is make sure no mundane cops enter the crime scene and be arrested for demonic murders himself. I understand why they would have chosen to give him this job instead of bookshopowner but it’s starting to annoy me a little. It has way too many screentime when I’d rather see him interacting with his pack. Especially after what happened between Maia and Jace in the last episode.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor shadowhunters season 2

The last scene we had in The City of Bones had amazed me during season 1. This week’s scene blew me away 😀 It was exactly how I imagined the city. A little touch of Moria from LOTR and a little touch of a creepy, silent underground cave is the perfect mix for it. I’m not sure about the screams we could hear but I was squealing too much by the overall scenery. It gave me the creeps (like it should).
Clary going down there to talk to Jace was a great addition to the story. In the books she doesn’t go down there until they get a distress call from the city and saves him from his cage but instead of that we get to watch them interact and acting like lovesick siblings.

However, the trial with the SoulSword was a tad…. misguided. It was ridiculous, to be honest. Aldertree asking about Jace and Clary’s relationship rather than asking questions about Valentine??? Why the hell would he bother? Why the hell would he care?

** Jace was awesome, though, in that scene**

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor shadowhunters season 2

About that character death… don’t worry, I won’t spoiler it here (it’s pretty amazing, though if you haven’t been spoilered yet by the heap of spoilers out there)… it was a shocking one but not one I didn’t see coming. Because Freeform likes to promote their shows a little too much (e.g. Pretty Little Liars) it always takes away a lot of the feels I would have when watching it.

Usually, at least for the shows that I watch, there’s a 50 second promo video to show us what’s going to happen next week and maybe -if we get lucky- a sneak peek video that doesn’t tell us anything specific about the episode which keeps the mystery alive.
The shows I watch are shows I watch because they keep me entertained. They keep me on edge while watching and episode. They draw me in and -in my case- drive me insane with emotions and theories. But Shadowhunters doesn’t allow me to do that by overly promoting the show on Twitter, on Tumblr, on facebook and even on Instagram. There’s no where I can go to avoid being roadblocked by another sneek peak (there were 3 this time) of next week’s episode or a Tweet about a certain character’s storyline this week. It’s crazy. It takes away all the suspense.
When I found out about the upcoming character death, I slammed on the breaks and tried to dodge all tweets, tumblr posts and videos but I was met with them nonetheless. And thus I was completely emotionless when it happened.
Okay… I’ll admit I hadn’t expected them to kill him/her off this early in the show but my reaction -as well as the characters in the show- was pretty non-existent.

Too bad….

But still, I would rate this episode as a three out of 5 stars. It’s not really as good as it should be but it’s definitely showing sign of growth.

With love,
Leanne

Leave a Reply

