Book talk · Tags

3 Days – 3 Quotes; Day 2

Hiya everyone!

Here’s day 2 of the challenge Melissa tagged me for.
Yesterday I wrote about quotes from my favorite movies that have inspired me over the years. Today, however, I’ll take a different topic, namely: Song Lyrics.

I’ll take some songs from my favorite bands/artists and quote sentences down below.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor asking alexandria banner
@TheGrindStore

“Spread out your wings and learn to fly”

I was introduced into the world of Asking Alexandria by a good friend of mine. I was quite new to the world of Metal Punk and Metal Rock but I was a huge fan of bands such as 30 seconds to mars, Nightwish, Evanescence and Within Temptation. So the genre wasn’t new to me, I just didn’t know how rich it truly was. AA has been on my fave list ever since I first listened to their songs.
The quote above comes from ‘Run Free’.

“I won’t let you be the death of me. No, I refuse to let you bring me down”

Like most of us, I was bullied during Primary school and Middle school. Always by the same boys and always because of the same reasons. If there were any reasons at all. At some point a teacher of mine asked one of the boys why he did it to which he replied: “I do it because I like it”. I was so depressed for such a long time due to those boys and I might have walked the edge for a while but when I heard this in one of AA’s songs (The Death Of Me) I knew that I couldn’t give those bullies the satisfaction of hurting me any longer.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor sleeping with sirens banner
@FireBrand

“Because I don’t want the world to see me, ’cause I don’t think that they’d understand”

For a very long time I hid myself from the outside world. I was there physically but mentally I was fighting of demons. Never did I think there was someone out there that could understand that, even though those bullies I talked about were gone they’re actions still haunted me. I wasn’t happy with myself and was convinced people around me thought the same things those bullies said to me. That I was stupid, ugly… that I didn’t have any friends…
I know the original lyrics are sung by the Goo Goo Dolls but when I heard Kellin Quinn sing his version of Iris… I broke down. It’s totally not about bullying or anything similar but it still got to me so badly that I still can’t listen to the song without breaking into tears.


RANDOM QUOTES.

“I wanna see you be brave” – Sara Bareilles

After getting through all the shit I talked about above, this quote helped me get back up on my feet. I wanted to change for the better and be rid of my inner demons. I’m still fighting the good battle with some good and some bad days but I’m getting there πŸ™‚

“Dear Mr. President” – Pink

This song means a lot to me. It can be applied to so many presidents. Not only the American one but since Trump was elected this song got even more meaning. How can Trump face his own people after what he’s been saying about Mexicans, Hispanics and Latinos. Or even after what he said about the LGBTO people. I’m so scared of the upcoming weeks.

This whole song… I could quote it but I’d end up writing the entire song lyrics down and I’ll spare you that by inserting the video of ‘Where Is The Love’ by the BlackEyedPeas. This newer version of the song was made to protest the things that are currently going on in the world like the refugee waves in Europe or the uprising discrimination in the world. And again… with Trump at the lead in America right now…. this song means more than ever. People can be disgustingly discrimanating and mysogynistic. Especially white people… so I can only hope that all those discriminated against stay safe ❀


And with that I’m going to leave day 2 of this challenge.
I’m sorry that this post turned out a little darker than I originally planned but music has always helped me feel certain things that I always locked away in my head.

With love,
Leanne

Leave a Reply

