Amie Kaufman · Jay Kristoff

Gemina

Gemina (The Illuminae Files, #2)Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminaecontinues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.


If you’ve read my review on Illuminae you know how much I love this series. Evenso, I was -once again- doubtful about its sequel Gemina. Like The Lunar Chronicles every book is told by different narratives. In this case, the book focuses on two different people on a different space station.
Having to switch main characters undid my reading experience in The Lunar Chronicles but also in Finding SkyThe Sin-Eater’s Daughter and The Star-touched Queen. So I was a little scared for this book. I didn’t want to dislike it since I loved the first book so much and thus it took me a while to purchase and read Gemina….

It. Blew. My. Mind!!!

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor explosion

Gemina picks up the story right after Illuminae ends but instead of being on the Hypatia with Kady, Ezra and the crew we have landed on Heimdall, the Jump Station to which the Hypatia is headed.
Clearly oblivious to the attack on Kerenza IV and its aftermath, the crew on Heimdall live their lives in harmony. Other than being affected by some malware that blasts a song about licking a lollipop everywhere you go, life on Heimdall is pretty good.

Until BeiTech -the people responsible for the attack on Kerenza IV and the biochemical disease that wiped out most of the refugees on board the three fleeing spaceships- decides it’s time to clean up their mess and kill off any witnesses. That includes the people on Heimdall. Without BeiTech’s interceptions, the Hypatia will reach Heimdall and the tale of the attack would spread into the universe like wildfire.
Therefore, everyone needs to die.

“It’s not about what I say, right? It’s what I do that matters here.”

Now, be prepared for some amazing, heartbreaking and devastating plottwist to come your way while reading this. I was on the floor, in fetal position crying my friggin eyes out 90% of the time. It was like reading Illuminae all over again. There is such a shitstorm of feels inserted in this book that I emptied my tissuebox within one day.

I never thought I could get attached to two new main characters but I did. I really did. I love them both so much that my heart got shredded to dust and was blown away by my own heavy breathing (I was scared to death most of the time).

Like IlluminaeGemina is a book in which every page is a surprise. Without having the experience from a first-person-narrative or even a third one, the book keeps surprising you at every chance it gets. Via transcripted videos, screenpics of chats and conversations over the radio we follow Hanna Donnelly, Nik Malikov, Ella Malikova and some of the BeiTech crew during their mission to either destroy all evidence or to safe all souls aboard and those on the Hypatia.
We even get to check in with our beloved characters from the first book.

gemina.png

I’m trying to think of more things to say without spoilers but there’s so much sensitive stuff that I just want to scream off the roofs. So the smart move is to leave it at this but I will tell you this: I am sooooo excited about this series. Gemina is so alike its prequel. It was horrific, it was hilarious, it was mind-blowing and everything I loved about Illuminae.

This book is definitely one of my top faves ❤


I rated this book 5 out of 5 stars. I would give it more if that was an option because it’s certainly off the charts.

Can’t wait to the third and final book in the Illuminae Files.

With love,
Leanne

 

11 thoughts on “Gemina

    1. For me it’s really hard to choose between the two. They felt so similar to me… but, I do lean to liking Illuminae just a tad more. That one had more terrifying plottwists and the PHOBOS disease *shivers* was a lot more horrifying than those aliens 😱

      Did you finish Gemina today? Or did you finish it within one day O.O ? (If that’s the case consider me impressed :p)

      Liked by 1 person

          1. Haha I read very little but the classics after I finished high school, and then one semester when I was doing a lit degree I signed up for 4 pre-20h century lit classes in one semester. When you’ve had to knock over a Dickens novel and 3 others of a similar nature in a week, anything written this century seems pretty easy 😂

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

