Book talk · Tags

Avatar; #TheLastAirbenderBookTag

Hiya everyone!

This tag was created by the Youtuber A Clockwork Reader. I, however, spotted the tag over on The Dreamland Book Blog and decided I wanted to do it too. I have always been a major fan of the series. Avatar was my life during middle school. Too bad it’s over and done.. 😦

I didn’t like The Legend of Korra all that much because it was so different from Avatar (especially the setting which was more modern) but since it was the sequel to the Avatar series, I watched that too. If you haven’t seen the series (both of them) it’s definitely worth to check it out. If you love elemental bending, humor and a great medieval setting than this is a must-see.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor katara en sokka1. Katara & Sokka; Best sibling relationship.

That would be Penryn and Rachel from Angelfall. Penryn goes on a dangerous quest in order to save her sister from certain death. You don’t see much interaction between the two characters but the fact that Penryn would risk her own life in order to save her little sister who’s probably already dead is what drove me to this choice. You don’t see many siblings doing that for each other. Especially not in a post-apocalyptic world where angels scavenge the earth and enslave people.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor yue the last airbender cartoon
Yue; Favorite Star-crossed lovers.

There has been a change in my long long list of OTPs recently. They’re not exactly star-crossed lovers but the fact that one part of the ship is immortal and the other is not makes it a pretty devastating ship.
Lorcan and Elide, or as I like to call them, Elorcan is a new ship in the Throne of Glass series and I ship the hell out of it. After Chaolaena shank to the bottom of the deepest ocean, I couldn’t get behind the whole Rowaelin idea but this is a ship that has quickly become my new OTP of the series.
I sincerely hope they are mates.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor blood bending
Blood bending; A book with an unsettling or disturbing concept.

I don’t know, actually. I haven’t read any disturbing books yet nor do they exist on my TBR list…. Maybe I’m avoiding them or maybe they haven’t popped up on my recommendations pile but nonetheless. I don’t know of any truly disturbing books.


 

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor toph
Toph; A character whose strength surprised you or the other characters in the book.

That’s definitely Elide from Throne of Glass. She was a little uninteresting in Queen of Shadows due to her own fears and inabilities but she became one hell of a character in Empire of Storms. She’s so friggin badass I can’t even…..


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor ba sing se

Ba Sing Se; Best Short Story.

That would be Genesis & Catastrophe by Roald Dahl. It’s about a woman in the process of giving birth. During her labor she talks about the fears of losing her child because she has lost all of her children in poverty, sickness and hunger.
It’s a very short story but you come to care for the woman anyway. You want her to have this baby and for it to live…. until the giant plottwist comes along and you’ll be crying on the floor.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor kyoshi warriors
The Kyoshi Warriors; Best warrior character.

The best warrior character that I have come across is Lia from The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson. Lia in the first book is this frightened little girl who runs from her wedding in an attempt to lead a normal live away from court. She wants little to do with it but throughout the books she finds herself caring for her people and risking her life for them over and over. And not only for her home. She’ll bleed for others too.
And that makes her  a great warrior princess.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor zuko
Zuko; The best redemption arc OR a redemption arc that should have happened.

I’ve got three words for you….
Jonathan. Christopher. Morgenstern.

That boy did NOT deserve to die. It wasn’t his fault that Valentine was obsessed with demons. It wasn’t his fault that Idris was invaded by them. It wasn’t his fault that so many Shadowhunters were killed and, yet, he had to die to make it stop.
I get that his body was more demonic than human after all those years but I still can’t understand why the human boy had to die after the demon side of him was killed.
It left us too little time with him and left him too little time with his mother and sister.
I truly wish he could’ve gotten more time to get passed the guilt and live a little before his body ran out of light.

*throws book out of the window*


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor iroh
Iroh; The wisest character.

One of the wisest characters that I know of is Dimitri Belikov from Vampire Academy. He’s the one who teaches Rose how to be a guardian while showing her the dangers of the world around them. He becomes someone she looks up to.
The reason I think he’s one of the wisest is because he gives all these life-lessons, and not only to Rose but to us as readers too.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor azula
Azula; The best downfall.

Doloris Umbridge…. I did NOT like that SOB at all and she deserved everything that the gang did to her throughout the books.

she deserves much worse, though


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor appa
Appa; Favorite fictional character.

 

It’s good to know that someone wants to drive me insane over a question…..
This one is impossible… like truly impossible. I can’t just pick one because there are so many that I love with all my soul. But for you guys I’ll name three of each gender from the list, randomly.

Chaol Westfall
Rhysand from the Night Court
Bellamy Blake
Feyre Cursebreaker
Lia Morrighan
Luna Lovegood


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor aang
Aang; Purest cinnamon roll.

Noah from The Raven Cycle. Definitely. He was the cutest, the creepiest but the best cinnamon roll I have ever come across in literature. Every time he came along I just wanted to hug him or have a massive cry over him.


Afbeeldingsresultaat voor avatar state
Avatar state; A stubborn character.

Daemon Black from Lux. He’s the most stubborn guy in YA history. If I didn’t know any better I would call him a jealous prick who doesn’t listen to his girlfriend although she’s right most of the time but, fortunately, I do know better and I still love him to death.


And that was it 😀

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyy.

I hope you enjoyed it. Feel free to pick up the tag as well and I’ll talk to you soon!

With love,
Leanne

3 thoughts on “Avatar; #TheLastAirbenderBookTag

  1. I LOVE Avatar: The Last Airbender!! It’s one of the best shows ever!!
    Bellamy is also one of my favorite fictional characters (but the TV show Bellamy haha) and Daemon Black is definitely stubborn 😀
    Sadly, I haven’t read a lot of the books you mentioned… I really need to read more 😦 😦
    Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

