Roshani Ghokshi

The Star-touched Queen

The Star-Touched Queen (The Star-Touched Queen, #1)Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.


When I first heard about the book, I was swept away by it’s gorgeous cover and great synopsis. Nonetheless, it took me a little while to get around to reading it… but I finally did and I must say….

Sadly enough….

I’m quite disappointed.
Maybe my hopes were up too high or maybe I expected the story to run into a certain direction… I don’t know. But I do know that this was not what I expected. At. All.

The Star-touched Queen tells us the story of Mayavati. A daughter to the Bharatian Raja (a sort of Emperor) and a dead woman. In the country of Bharati, the people believe in horoscopes and take great pains to try and life up to the stars. And, thus, Mayavati is cursed by all. The stars upon her birth told a story of a woman sided by Death. A yielder of destruction.
This curse has made sure that Mayavati has been shunned all her life by the other women in the harem. Evenso, Maya has found ways to feel alive and significant. She spies on her father’s court meatings and is hungry for all tales and mythologies taught from books. Maya tries to make most of her life by collecting all kinds of stories and passing them on to her half-sister Gauri.

Until her father wants her dead….
In order to save their country, Maya has to die by means of a poison. A marriage scam will lure every enemy of the state towards their capitol and when it’s time, Maya is forced to drink the poison and forfeit her life. But someone stops her from killing herself and becoming a martyr.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the star-touched queen quotes

Amar is a mysterious man, cloacked in shadows and shielded by secrets. Yet, there’s a pull to him that makes Maya hesitate and chose to go with him to a land far, far way. A land where everything is possible. There’s jewel-like fruits, monsters in all kinds and sizes, the Night Bazaar with it’s strange but luring vendors, elephants spinning clouds and a memory tree that might contain more than just images from a life already lived.

In the land of Akaran, Maya finds the reason behind her gloomy horoscope and a man who loves her but there are threads out there that might lead her astray and ruin everything.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor the star-touched queen quotes

I have to admit, I was very confused with this book at first. There was so much going on and it was told in such an incoherent way that I had trouble connecting the dots. There’s a worldbuilding you have to get familiar with and then suddenly you get these confusing visions -or not visions- thrown in and other stuff that throws you off….
It just becomes truly confusing.

But I did like the book. It got better after the first half of it. It still had some issues and it was still confusing as heck but at least I was familiar with all the different names, species and countries that you’ll come across.
The main plot is amazing, by the way! It’s a great read and I enjoyed myself immensly but I do feel like it could have been so much more. This content could have easily filled up three books. In that way I could’ve connected with the characters more. There was no room for that now. I don’t think I got anything from Amar, nor did I truly understand Nritti’s motives.
I didn’t even get to know Maya all that well. Beyond her horoscope and the way she was brought up, I mean. I couldn’t connect to any of them…


I rated this book with 3 out of 5 stars.
I really think it’s got great potential. It gives us a great plot with -what I think can be- great characters but there’s nothing to connect with and then there’s the matter of being confused almost all the time.

With love,
Leanne

 

Leave a Reply

