Renee Ahdieh

The Mirror and The Maze

The Mirror & the Maze (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1.5)The city of Rey is burning. With smoke billowing, fires blazing and his people fleeing, Khalid races back to defend his city, and protect his queen. But Khalid is too late to do either. He and his men arrive to find the city in ruins, nothing but a maze of destruction, and Shahrzad is gone. But who could have wrought such devastation? Khalid fears he may already know the answer, the price of choosing love over the people of Rey all too evident.


Apart from the fact that I’m overly obsessed with this bookseries, I’m genuinely amazed by these novellas. They have given me more insight to characters I love and adore in the main series.

In this particular one we crawl inside Khalid’s head during the storm that occurs at the end ofΒ The Wrath and The Dawn. Since we never got to know what transpired when Khalid came home, this novella was very refreshing. I wondered for so long how Khalid would’ve responded to the fact that Shahrzad fled the city with her ex-lover who was also responsible for the rebellious uprising on the boarder. I wanted to know what would happen to Jalal when he brought the news of her departure upon Khalid.

And now I know.

I’m so happy right now. Seriously, though. There hasn’t been a series (apart from the Shadowhunter books) that has made me this happy and absolutely heartbroken. They have provoked me to think twice about certain characters and this novella brings up new questions, like…Β is Khalid a bad person for being so violent? Do I consider him a murderer for doing what he did with those girls? Or do I consider him a savior for chosing to murder those girls in order to save the many….?

And these novellas really help me get to an answer. I really do love Khalid as a person. He works in mysterious ways. Reading about his reaction to Shahrzad’s departure and the fact that his city is burning, just like the curse said it would….. I just…

@ rebelmommybookblog

With love,
Leanne

2 thoughts on “The Mirror and The Maze

Leave a Reply

