About me · My bookshelves

New Shelves

Hiya Everyone,

It’s been a few weeks since I went out to Ikea and bought my new shelves but
I waited to post pics of them online because they’ve been a little bland and empty for the last few days. I wanted to transform those empty white shelves into something more…. colorful before putting them here.

And I did it πŸ˜€
So here they are!

1.png

Last month a Dutch online webshop offered some discount on all kinds of English books and thus I bought the entire hardcover set ofΒ Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas. When I finally received them, I couldn’t put them anywhere and when I did, my shelf (which hung on the wall) came crashing down due to overweight.

Two days later I introduced my bedroom to three new bookcases with 9 more shelves to fill up with books. And this is how I filled up number 1. I chose to dedicate one shelf to my number 2 fave author of all time: Sarah J Maas. One of my best friends had sent me a package of bookmarks and she included some ACOTAR and TOG based ones πŸ˜€
They’re so pretty ❀

The second shelf I tried to dedicate to Maggie Stiefvater. Especially to her The Raven Cycle series. It was one of the first series that I read in YA land so it deserves a special place on my shelves. I didn’t like herΒ Wolves of Mercy Falls that much but enough to grant it a place on the shelf.
I also included The Divergent series but secretly wanted to dedicate the shelf to Mary E Pearson’s The Remnant Chronicles SINCE THEY WERE INCREDIBLE AND I CAN’T WAIT UNTIL THE THIRD COMES OUT !!!!

The bottom shelf is a mix of stand-alone books that I had that came crashing down with the shelf I mentioned earlier.

2.png

My second bookcase is a little easier to explain.
It’s more or less dedicated to Angels as a first and to Shadowhunters a second. I needed at least one and a half shelf to display my Shadowhunter books my god there are so many so I went ahead and gave Cassie and her Shadowhunters two shelves.
I mean… there’s still two more books to come in the TDA series and then there’s the TLH series and the series after that…. and the new Magnus Bane series…. it’s insane :p

The bottom shelf contains my angel-based books. Series like; Angelfire, Fallen, Daughter of Smoke and Bone and AngelfallΒ are on it. I used to have more angel-based books but I sold a couple of them in order to buy other new books.
I was so broke…. whoops

3.png

For this bookcase I tried to dedicate the top shelf to my Arabic-based books.Β The Wrath and The Dawn was the first book I read that was set in the Middle East and I fell head over heels in love with it. With all of it. So I went looking for more books like that and foundΒ Rebel of the Sands andΒ The Forbidden Wish which I devoured as well.
I really hope I can fill it up with more books like them. So if you have any recommendation, please let me know πŸ™‚

The second shelf is widely dedicated to Jennifer L Armentrout, another author whose in my top 5. I absolutely adored herΒ Lux series and therefor it deserves a display like this. Jen herΒ The Dark Elements series is right beside it, accompanied by books that are part of a series but I own only these parts. Mostly the first books in a series.
*Desperately tries to save up for the hardcover edition of Cinder*

The bottom shelf only contains books written by Richelle Mead.Β Vampire AcademyΒ was my favorite series of all time for a very, very long time but it was beaten off the throne by Raven Boys first, then Shadowhunters came along and later on the Fae.
I still cherish the series though.
Bloodlines however…. not so much. That’s why I presented them the way I did and used the left over space to display two boxes that look like paintings that look like books.

Confusing, huh? :p

(I have a thing for The Girl with the Pearl Earring. I find the painting to be really pretty)

Of course I do have some more shelves but since these were new, I wanted to show them to you. The other ones will be uploaded later on πŸ™‚

With love,
Leanne

7 thoughts on “New Shelves

Leave a Reply

