Kiera Cass

The Elite

The Elite (The Selection, #2)The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.


First of all:

WHY IS THIS SERIES SO HIGHLY ADDICTIVE AND WHY DOES IT DRIVE ME INSANE?!?!?!?!

Second of all:

The Elite is the sequel to The Selection in Kiera Cass’s famous Selection Series. After reading this one, I still don’t get the hype.

Since a couple of people told me it would get better in the second book, I started fresh. I abandoned my negative feelings towards The Selection expecting to find out more about the world America lives in, only to stumble right back into her tiny little head.
There where multiple times throughout the read (which took no less than a couple of hours) that I wanted to dive into the book to throttle America. If you think she was over-the-top annoying in the first book, be prepared…. She much worse now. I hated that because I was really hoping to see some growth in her 😦

The Elite does, however, contain a certain suspense that is richer than the first book but this too is weakened after the first few chapters. Cass creates a building suspense by using cliffhangers at the end of each chapter which is a great way to keep readers reading. But even this became frustrating to me because at the end of each chapter, America comes to the same damn conclusion YET SHE NEVER ACTS ON IT.

Okay… I’m gettin frustrated again. Let’s talk about something else, shall we.
Because there were still some parts of the book I did like. There was the rebellion and the possibility of America’s father being part of it. There was Maxon, who is still better than anyone in this book and we got a little bit of info about the rebellion.

Now that made me jump up and down with excitement!

But then balloon got popped too. Other than a few attacks on the castle, like in the first book, we never see anything happen with the rebels. Apart from finding an old diary that belonged to the founder of the rebellion, we don’t get any interaction with those people. I just miss that part of Cass’s worldbuilding. She could’ve done so much more with it, yet she choses to use these attacks to let America shine…. which she doesn’t

The quote above probably explains America the best in this book. She’s so indecisive that she just becomes the most brainless person I have ever read about because when she finally knows for sure that Maxon loves her, she’s too scared to be rejected and therefor refrains from accepting him.
That crap doesn’t even make any sense. And then she has the nerve to get angry at him for charming other ladies which he has to because he’s in the middle of a friggin selection!!?!?!?!

not to mention the fact that she is still hooking up with Aspen every other page or two

At this point I’m just hoping Cass will surprise us all by letting Maxon choose Kriss…

It’s probably safe to say that the reason I’m so frustrated with these books is all due to it’s female lead. And that bums me out because these books do have potential. There’s so much more to explore in this world but Cass doesn’t even tread into those places. It’s a shame to see it go to waste.


I rated this book with 1 star out of 5. I didn’t like it as much as I did The Selection so that’s why I took one star off the rating. I really hope the third and last one is better than this and will change my mind about the series but, so far it’s not looking so good.

With love,
Leanne

One thought on “The Elite

  1. I so agree with everything you’ve said. I read all three books and then was really confused about why I’d bothered because America’s so so irritating. I think the Elite was my least favourite of the three because pretty much nothing happened. Great review

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

