Tags

The #UltimateBookTag Part 2.

Since there are 25 questions in this particular book tag, I did the first 13 yesterday and will continue answeringΒ the next 12 today.

Without any further ado, let’s get started πŸ™‚


13. What is your favorite Classic?
My all time favorite classic novel is The Arabian Nights. It’s a collection of Arabian fairy tales told by Scheherazade to her husband -the Caliph- Shahryar. The legend goes that Shahryar was cheated upon by his first wife and thus lost his trust in all women. This distrust caused him to marry a female, each day, before killing her at dawn. This endless cycle continues until Scheherazade steps up. With a solid plan to survive the dawn, Scheherazade falls into a tale of adventure each evening but leaves the King at a cliffhanger on the exact moment of her murder. So each night the king is forced to keep from killing his wife if he wants to hear the end of the tale.

What’s truly extraordinary about this collection of tales is the way they intertwine with each other. Each new tale comes forth from the previous story in order to keep the king interested. And in the end, the king forgives his wife and they live happily ever after.

Sound familiar??? *teehee*

The Wrath and The Dawn is a retelling ofΒ The Arabian NightΒ a.k.aΒ One Thousand and One Night.

14. Did you get the highest grades for English Literature?
We never really had any course resembling English Literature. We did, however, get lessons in the English Language and it indeed was one of my favorite courses. My grades were sky high and the language was easy to me.

15. If you were to get a book you disliked as a present, what would you do with it?
I would probably keep it. Someone put a lot of thought into giving me a present and it’s not their fault I didn’t like the book all that much. It would probably sit on my shelves for a while until I have a serious space problem and then I would put it in a box or something.
But I would never refuse to take it, tell the person I hated the book or exchange it for something else. The latter I usually only do when I already have the book they gave me.

16. What is a lesser known bookseries that you know of, and resembles Harry Potter or The Hunger Games?
Like a mix of them? Or either this or that? I mean… there isn’t really a book that resembles both since the series mentioned are so different from each other. A bookseries resembling Harry Potter could beΒ The Magisterium Series by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. Oh God, I hated that first book. It was maddening to read it and only come to the conclusion that it’s nothing but a cheap Harry PotterΒ rip off.
Everything, and by that I mean EVERYTHING, in that book resembled Harry Potter from beginning to the end. So I only read the first book and have yet to start the second…. but I don’t think I ever will, to be honest.

17. What’s a bad habit of yours that you do while blogging?
Probably a lack of editing. I write what comes to mind so what you read here is how I think in my head. If that makes any sense at all :p
I do check for errors or spelling mistakes but I don’t do a thorough job of it…

18. What’s your favorite word?
If you’ve been keeping up with my blog posts, you’ve come across the words: Amazing, incredible and love, a lot. It’s those three words that always express my feelings towards a book. My English vocabulary is exstensive but not extensive enough to be able to express my love for a book in various different ways, so I usually end up using those three words to show how much a book means to me.

Teehee, Brick is so me >u<

19. Vampires or Faeries?
FAERIES ALL THE WAY!! HOLY HELL!! I have loads of Faeries on my shelves and some of my favorite books are about Fae and and and…. HAVE YOU READ A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES??!!?!?!? I MEAN… HOLY SHIZZLE!!

And, well…. you know…. Tinkerbell has always been my favorite Disney Character :p

20. Shapeshifters or Angels?
Angels!!!! I’ve never had anything with Shapeshifters but Angels have always amazed me. I have always believed in them. I’m convinced that they actually do exist (even though I don’t believe in God.. I know, it’s a little weird). There was a period of time in my life that I wanted to learn all about them. I wanted to know about the archangels, about Michael and Lucifer. I wanted to know about the Grigori and so I was hooked on Supernatural, fell in love withΒ Fallen and couldn’t stop gathering books about Angels likeΒ Angelfire andΒ Angelfall. They’re stuffed full with Angel lore and I love love love them.

21. Zombies or Vampires?
Definitely Vampires. Zombies don’t freak me out, don’t scare me, don’t… whatever. They’ve always been boring to me. I don’t know why but I never cared for them. But Vampires drive me insane :p There’s a whole world of myths and legends about them and, like with Angels, I wanted to learn them all. I’ve watchedΒ many vampire based movies, TV shows and read many books about them (Vampire Academy, The Vampire Diaries, Twilight, Dracula etc.) They fascinate me. So Vampires it is.

22. Ghosts or Werewolves?
Werewolves don’t interest me all that much. I don’t think they’re boring like I do Zombies but they just don’t…. *shrugs*

But Ghosts I find interesting. I always believed that there’s more to life than just life and death. I do believe that we never truly leave this earth but that we return to it as spirits. That’s where all the negative and positive energy comes from that super-sensitive people can sense.

23. Love triangles or a forbidden love?
Give me the last one. PLEASE GIVE ME THE LATTER!!

I’m a little tired of the overly used love triangle. It returns in every single book I read. I keep reading them because I love those books but when it contains a forbidden love, I’m much happier than when it’s a love triangle, and -let’s face it- we all know who’ll end up together whenever there’s a love triangle. It’s always the dark and brooding guy who is hated at first but loved at last instead of the sweet and caring guy who’s nothing but supportive of the female lead.

24. Romance novels or adventure-packed books with romance in it?
Adventure books with romance. I always end up being frustrated with the book if the main plot is romance. Take The Selection for example. I liked (and hated) the book but I missed sooooooooo much plotwise because it was all about the romance between Maxon and America. So I rather have a great plot with a romance weaved into it than a romantic plot with a little adventure.


And that is the end of thisΒ Ultimate Book Tag πŸ˜€

Please let me know if you’re interested in the tag. I’ll check out your answers πŸ˜€

With love,
Leanne

6 thoughts on “The #UltimateBookTag Part 2.

  1. I love these questions and your answers! Maybe I’ll have to read One Thousand and One Nights to see if I like it more than TWATD. πŸ˜‰ Also I’m so glad you called out the Magesterium series for being a cheap rip off of HP – I was going to read them but I’ll steer clear now! x

    Like

    1. Thank you! πŸ˜€

      Yes, you definitely should check it out ^^ It’s a lot like TWATD but also not :p It’s more fairytales and folklore but it’s sooooooo great ❀ I think you might like that one better πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m always open to having my mind changed haha! It does sound good, and I still really like the idea of the connecting stories within stories and the exotic setting, so I think I’ll defo try and give it a go when I have some time. πŸ™‚ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the compliment ^^ It’s always nice to hear that my writing is pleasing to read πŸ˜€ It helps me a lot to keep going so thank you!

      Hahaha yay, I’m not the only one who struggles with editing πŸ˜€ I don’t think it has anything to do with being sharp or not, though. It’s probably got more the do with your own writing and not being able to see the mistakes anymore at a certain point :p At least… that’s how it is for me >.<

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

