Kiera Cass

The Selection

The Selection (The Selection, #1)For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herselfβ€”and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


The only reason I ever started this book was because of the continuous recommendations I received from people on forums and from close friends. It was, in the end, inevitable. So I started to read it and all my expectations were met.

This…. was a beautiful disaster.

To be honest, though, I didn’t hate the book as much as I initially thought I would. The writing was easy to get into (although sometimes Cass uses descriptive words that made me cringe a little).
I’m in a hate/love relationship withΒ The Selection. It’s an okay read but at most times it became so friggin frustrating that I just wanted to set fire to the pages and drain the ashes down the toilet….. I was so not joining the hype around this series.


The Selection
is a novel about a (supposedly cute) romance between a prince and his future wife. But before the prince can marry he has to go through a series of selection to pick a well-fitted wife out of several ladies picked from all around his country. In this selection there are poor women as well as rich ones, and they’re all out to get the prince’s heart.

And so is America Singer.

(The name alone makes me cringe) America is born into a slightly wealthy family that lives in a region where the inhabitants work and deal in music. America is -if her last name hasn’t already spoilered the deal for you- a singer, and is somewhat content with the life she leads. She thinks nothing of the royals until the Royal Decree arrives at their home, stating all girls of America’s age must attend court for The Selection to start.
After a short period of hesitation (which contained an akward break-up), America is on her way towards the capitol in order to join the band of girls fighting over Prince Maxon and win the deal so that her parents can live a prosperous life.

Not that they have had any hardships before.


I could not be more frustrated with a character or a book. For real. I mean, the characters in this book are pretty Β one-dimensional and so confusing because America keeps going on and on about her family being poor but all we see her do is pop some corn, bake pancakes AND own several musical instruments…. And they are poor???
I really disliked being inside her head. It’s not that I hate her but she’s so whiny and fickle sometimes that I just… I just..

10…9…8..7..6..5….4…….3……..2……..1… Okay, I’m calm.

During the selection, which America joined after dumping her boyfriend in order to raise her parents’ status within the realm, we come across Aspen -the ex- once more. He has followed America to the capitol in order to express his feelings towards her in the hopes of a reconcilliation which drove me crazy because when we finally got to a point where America thought she might be falling in love with Maxon, this dude shows up…..
It was so unnecessary. The whole love-triangle was uncalled for. There was enough drama going on and I would’ve liked to see more of the rebellion instead.

OMG… that rebellion. I finally thought the story might get interesting with the uprising of rebels but I was disappointed yet again 😦 Other than a few short rebel attacks that send most of the girls sobbing and fainting in front of everyone, nothing exciting happened. They all took cover in some hidden room and didn’t come out until after the attackers were gone and that bummed me out. I would have liked to see some action take place but it didn’t.

Okay… now it seems as if the only thing I did was curse this book but that’s not the case. I did like some bits of it. For example, I really liked Maxon’s character. He’s funny and charming, and just about the only one with more dimension and depth to his person. We got to know his backstory which explained how he behaved at times. Whereas America kept switching between Maxon and Aspen and whining about wanting to go home, Maxon is more layered. Not everything about him is revealed right off the bat and I liked that. I was curious to see who he was and what makes him tick.

credit; partylikeawordstar

That said, I didn’t dislike the book enough to give it a one-star rating. I probably will continue this series to see if it gets better but if someone asks me if they should read this or not I would probably end upΒ saying no.

Especially not if your looking for a hunger games meets the bachelor kind of story. Because it’s not. IT’S NOT I TELL YOU.


I rated this book 2 stars out of 5.

With love,
Leanne

2 thoughts on “The Selection

  1. I SO agree with you! I read this book as part of my dissertation on YA retellings of Cinderella (apparently this novel’s based on Cinderella), and spoiler: I completely tore it apart from a feminist standpoint. Even without that aspect it’s just so frustrating! There were some parts that I enjoyed, and I think I actually gave it 3 stars initially? Might go back and change that, though, because 2 stars is way more accurate. It’s just not very good, I think. Good review! Glad to know I’m not alone!

    Like

    1. Really?? A Cinderella retelling?? Hahahaha ookay :p I tought it was based on The Bachelor series from TV xD

      Nope, you’re not alone ^^ Thankfully πŸ™‚ Good to know someone’s out there who shares my thoughts on this book/series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

