Tags

The #UltimateBookTag Part 1.

I hate it when work takes up too much time and I don’t get to write as much as I want to. But, thankfully, I get some days off and I can write to my heart’s content.
And therefor I will write another tag today. It’s the Ultimate Book Tag in which I answer questions about reading and myself.

If you want to do this tag too, consider yourself tagged :p


1. Do you get ill when you read in the car?
Thank God, no πŸ™‚ Ever since my parents took me and my siblings out for holidays to Italy or France, we had to drive 10 to 15 hours before reaching our destination. That left me with plenty of time with nothing to do so I chose to read in the car.
I do, however, need an MP3 player and blast music into my ears. If I don’t do that I will get ill and can’t continue.

2. Which author’s writing is unique to you and why?
I don’t know for sure, actually. I mean… I haven’t read enough from Maggie Stiefvater to say her writing is unique to me even if it is, becauseΒ The Raven Cycle is waaaaaaaaaaay different from everything I have ever read and I love it for it but on the other hand, Cassie Clare’s writing is unique to me because I love the way she creates her characters and lets them grow. And then there’s Sarah J Maas with her talent of world building and use of words.

Can I just name all three of them ?? :p

3. Harry Potter or Twilight? Name 3 things to explain why.
Harry Potter, Harry Potter, Harry Potter!!!!!! I won’t bash on the Twilight books because, even though I have some problems with them, the books were great. But I’m a Potterhead all the way.
– I grew up with Harry Potter. My whole childhood was spent reading the books, going to the premieres of the movies, waiting for a new book release, talking theories with friends etc. etc. etc. Nothing Twilight ever did for me can compare to that.
– I still spend hours and hours binge watching the movies. Marathoning them whenever I feel like it. But never Twilight. I have all the Twilight movies but I’ve watched the last two mainly because Jamie was in it and no other reason.
–Β This is going to sound weird since I read a lot of romance novels but I like the fact that HP doesn’t have a lot of romance in it. The main focus remains Harry and Voldemort, good vs. evil and all things that come with it. I love that about HP.
Twilight, however, will always be about Bella and Edward. No matter what happens to shake up the plot, it’ll always be about a vampire and his human, and their relationship.
– (I’m going to add a fourth) I LOVE MAGIC!!!!!!

4. Do you carry a bookbag? If yes, what’s in it?
I do, actually. A friend of mine once entered a giveaway because she saw I was fangirling over the competition AND SHE FRIGGIN WON πŸ˜€
It was a giveaway of a Throne Of Glass tote-bag with Celaena on the back and DORIAN & CHAOL & NEHEMIA & CELAENA on the front. A few days later it arrived with a note from my friend. It was soooooooo sweet of her to do that for me ❀
So, of course, I parade the thing around like a proud fangirl and always carry a book with me. The past few days I hadΒ De Guillotine with me along with my housekeys, my wallet and some sunblock (I am allergic for the sun so I can’t go outside without protection *cries*)

5. Do you smell your books?
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAhahahahahahahahahahah

Yes….. yes, I do.

6. Books with or without print?
I prefer my books without print or images because that leaves enough room for my own imagination to form a world to the author’s description.

7. Which writing style was amazing to you when you first read it but felt different when reading it again after reading so many other books?
This is going to sound really weird but I have this whenever I read Dutch books again. Since Dutch is my first language, I grew up reading books written in that language. I was obsessed with them. Especially when I started reading Fallen by Lauren Kate. The first two books were translations but it takes a long time for a translation to be finalized so book three was already published in English but not yet in Dutch.
That’s when I started reading English and I never stopped reading in that language. Until last week……
A few days ago I started a Dutch book that I was a huge fan of when I was in middle school. Although I loved it very much the writing made it a struggle of some sort. I was so unused to reading Dutch that it felt very alien to me.

8. Do you have any funny stories about your childhood reading?
Not really…. I’m a very boring person :p Nothing funny ever came up, unless you were there at the time *teehee*

9. What’s the slimmestΒ book on your shelf?
Β That would be one of my W.I.T.C.H magazines. They’re comics of 70 pages long about 5 friends that find out they’re part of an ancient elemental protective service to all dimensions. Together they can use all elements in order to protect the balance of the worlds and protect its inhabitants.

10. What’s the thickest book on your shelf?
My leather-bound copy of Shakespeare’s collection of poems, sonnets and plays. I got it for my birthday last year and it’s one of the prettiest books on my shelves πŸ˜€

11. Are you as good a writer as you are a reader? Do you see a future as author for yourself?
I’d like to think so… I do spend a huge part of my spare time writing my own stories and delving myself into character development and creation. I love writing about people who go on great adventures to safe their loved ones or something like that. I’ve spent the last few weeks setting up a story about love and saving each other instead of the world.

But to call myself a good writer… Idk >.< I’m still a little insecure about my writing so I’ve never let anyone read it. I have no proof to back me up when I say I’m a good writer so you’ll never hear me say it.

12. When did you start reading?
I started reading when I was in primary school. We had to read books from a list to proof we were at the correct reading level in that particular year and every time I was one of the ‘better’ readers because I kept devouring books. In the last couple of primary school years I sped through countless of books and repeated a lot of the same ones like:
– Ronja the robber’s daughter.
– Blauwe Plekken (Bruises)
– The Red Princess.
– Harry Potter.
But what truly launched me into reading (since I took a very extensive recess after finishing primary school) was Fallen by Lauren Kate. That series introduced me into the world of Young Adult Literature and …. well… the rest you know :p


Like the friend I stole this tag from, I’m going to rip it into two parts. Otherwise you’ll still be reading this one post tomorrow >.<

Part two will follow shortly, don’t worry πŸ˜‰ And please take up the tag if you want to do it too. I can’t wait to see some of your answers πŸ™‚

With love,
Leabbe

10 thoughts on “The #UltimateBookTag Part 1.

      1. I’m pretty sure you can buy some of Lene KaaberbΓΈl’s english Novels (including W.I.T.C.H) cheap (but secondhand) on awesomebooks.com πŸ™‚ Personally, I just love her “Shamer Chronicles” . Best book from my childhood.

        Like

        1. I added the first book of the Shamer Chronicles πŸ™‚ It’s got diverse ratings but I want to give it a try ^^

          I’ve searched for the author on Goodreads and I now I remember those W.I.T.C.H books πŸ˜€ I think I even have a couple of them *whoopsie* xD

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Maybe it’s the translation then. Or maybe it was because I was seriously in love with the books when I was younger. I loved them. Just bought the three first books last month xD

            Like

            1. Maybe :p A lot of the original story gets lost in translation so that could be it.

              I’m getting quite curious now :p The synopsis does sound great so I’m definitely going to give it a try ^^

              Like

Leave a Reply

