Renee Ahdieh

The Rose and The Dagger

The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath & the Dawn, #2)I am surrounded on all sides by a desert. A guest, in a prison of sand and sun. My family is here. And I do not know whom I can trust.

In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curseβ€”one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid’s empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.

While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn’t yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love.


I have no words…… truly….

This book is so grand that I can’t find a way to even begin to explain my feelings over it. I spent a lot of time obsessing over it’s prequel -nearly choked on my impatience to wait for this book- while dying to know what would happen to the characters I love.

Any expectation I had went right out of the window when I finally started reading this book. It. Blew. My. Mind!!

The Rose and The Dagger is the sequel toΒ The Wrath and The Dawn. It tells us the story of Shahrzad and Khalid (as well as Tariq, Rahim and many others) after the events in TWATD. Shahrzad is now part of the rebellion that is working against her husband, and ready to over throw him. Because of this very reason, Shahrzad feels threatened by everyone inside the camp. She can’t even turn to Tariq anymore, not after what she did to his heart.
The only one she could turn to is her own sister… but can she be trusted with the secrets of an empire? Choosing to trust no one, Shahrzad sets out to find an old friend to seek help in breaking the curse. Breaking it is the only way she can ever be reunited with Khalid.

Khalid, however, has accepted -although heart-breakingly- the fact that Shahrzad is gone. He misses her terribly but nothing can be done. Instead of getting her back, he focuses on rebuilding the city and helping his people while trying to maintain a cool façade. As king he has a duty to his people, and Khalid will go to great lengths to protect what is his.

Meanwhile, dark forces are gathering to usurp the king. Tariq notices the dark path his uncle is turning into with his rebellion, and begins to doubt his course. What started out as a war to save his love has become a fight to the death.

I just…. I just can’t find a good begin to start telling you guys how much I love this book. How much I’m IN love with this book. It’s been driving me insane from the first page on.
Renee has managed to captivate me again with this sequel, and so much more. I was giggling, laughing, crying, screaming and cursing, and sometimes all at the same time. There have been times that I wanted to throw the book away and crawl away somewhere to get my feelings in order.

I’m so awed by this series. It’s so much more than just incredible or fantastic. There aren’t words grand enough to capture its essence because it’s better than any superlative that I know.
I was literally unable to put the book down. Even when I had to eat or sleep the book was near me and I picked it up the second my hands were free and my eyes were open.

I adored Shahrzad’s story arc in this book. She’s hella strong without the recklessness that most of my beloved YA heroes possess. She doesn’t go into something without second guessing it. She doesn’t do what her heart desires only until she knows its safe to do so.
Getting into her magic wielding abilities made her character even more epic.
Because the series is a duology, the magic wielding did go by a little too fast for me but that’s all forgiven when I look at the bigger picture.

Khalid’s story arc was impressive too. Out of all the characters, he remains the most interesting one to me. There’s so much to him that we don’t know about so getting to know him a little more and more made this book even better. I missed his snark, although he doesn’t let it out that much.

I need more of Khalid and Tariq together PLZ

There was one point in which I threw the book across the room (after cursing at the characters a couple of times for making me feel all the feels). There’s one particular chapter that had my heart beating faster and faster until I knew what was going to happen and I just couldn’t…. I JUST COULDN’T OKAY


And that ending…. that ending was INTENSE!! I am so NOT okay *cries*


I gave this book -of course- 5 stars on Goodreads. It’s currently residing on top of my favorite list. I have never ever been so obsessed with a bookseries except for TMI or TID but if I had to choose a favorite between the three series, it’s definitely this one.

Doesn’t mean that I’m no longer a shadowhunter by heart, though. I’ll still defend those books with my life.

With love,
Leanne

Leave a Reply

