Book talk

Book-to-movie-adaptations

In the world of YA books, there’s no avoiding it anymore. In the past few years we have tumbled into a world wide trend of transforming incredible upstanding YA novels into movies. Some of them truly good (Harry Potter, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, The Book Thief etc.) and some of them… not so… good, to say the least (Vampire Academy, The Mortal Instruments, Eragon etc.)

In this blogpost I’ll be discussing books that I would like to see televized or transformed into major franchises.


The Mortal Instruments.

The first bookseries that is on my list is The Mortal Instruments which currently has its own show on ABC family and Netflix. I started reading the books before the movie was released (which doesn’t make it any better) so I was extremely happy when the movie became an actual thing and the characters were getting casted.
How disappointed I was after watching it at the cinema….. It just didn’t live up to the books and what I imagined it could be. I’m not saying it is hateful or worse than bad because it isn’t. It does have its charms. (Especially Jamie Campbell Bower…. did I just say that?)

After that major let-down, I was thrilled to hear the franchise being turned into a TV show which hasn’t let me down up until now. There are some plot points and characteristics that I would have liked to see differently but I’m not a writer of the show so I’m hoping that they’ll learn of the feedback they got to improve season 2.

I’M SO HAPPY THAT THE SHOW IS OPTED FOR A SEASON 2.


The Raven Cycle

20160221_170742

As a huge fan of The Raven Cycle I would love to see this bookseries transformed into a TV show. Definitely not a movie franchise.

Like the author, Maggie Stiefvater, I don’t want to see this at the cinema but rather on TV where the world of The Raven Boys can be explored with justice. A TV show enables the series to have enough time to establish all the difficult themes, plots and characters of the books unlike a movie. I would very much like to see the world of Ley Lines and Gansey’s quest to find Glendower televized.

Hopefully, that’ll happen one day.


Legend.

This bookseries I’m very excited about. I wish there were movies of these three badboys already. The reason I would like to watch these on the big screen is because the books are so full of action, which is written in a way that it felt like a tiny movie in my head with all the exploding buildings and racing planes… it was IN-SANE!!

I’m convinced that this series would do well as movies and hopefully (I think there are plans for production but I’m not sure) it’ll get picked up soon by some director and production company so that they can get started with casting and script writing. And if they do, I hope they stay true to the character’s heritage.

*please don’t cast Day as an American white boy but please keep his Asian features, thank you very much*


Vampire Academy.

Hopefully, we haven’t seen the end of Vampire Academy in media land. The movie was a bust (because… let’s face it, the movie didn’t make any sense as far as the bookseries goes) and didn’t do so well in the fandom. We fought for it because the bookseries deserves a new life but we lost. The movie was too much like Mean Girls and focused too much on dumbplaying its audience for it to make much sense.

The fact that I and a friend of mine were alone in the theater when it premiered says enough.

But that doesn’t take away the fact that I would love to see this bookseries transform into something great, and because the movie flunked I would love to see it return as a TV show, like The Mortal Instruments did. If so, I hope they keep Zoey and Danila since they were awesomeness ❤


Me Before You.

This book will be released in movie form sometime in June of July, I’m not sure. It’s been on my list for ages and I’m very happy to know that a movie will come this year. I’ve seen all the footage and I can’t say it has displeased me yet. I’m really excited for it since the trailers make it look so good and the cast is outstanding ❤

I really can’t wait for this one!!


The Darkest Minds.

When I read this series I was immediately struck by the fact that there wasn’t any news relating to a possible movie or TV show. I haven’t looked for a while so maybe that’s changed but it amazes me how there isn’t a movie or a show about these books yet.
They’re perfect material for an epically great Tv show or movie. There’s so much in there that we can relate to, and there’s enough action and suspension to create breath-taking cliffhangers.

Apart from the above, this series doesn’t have a very wide audience (as far as I know) which would automatically take care of all those nasty spoiler alerts.


The Wrath and The Dawn.

I’m madly, head-over-heels, on cloud nine and all the way through in love with this book. It’s one of my absolute favorites and still I would hold it up for anyone who wants to transform it into a movie.

Its diverse world and rich characters deserve to be put out on the big screen and tell their story. It’s plot is so darn incredible that I would love to have it come alive on the screen. I want to see Shahrzad and Khalid come to live. To watch their story play out with a world that I had to research about to be able to imagine it the way I was suppose to. I want to learn more about it through television.

So please, someone… anyone…. turn this into a really great movie.

*pretty please*


Angelfall.

 

 

BUT ONLY IF THEY DO IT JUSTICE.

There are some bookseries that I’m really scared about putting out there, like The Infernal Devices or Lux. I would rather die than letting some producer turn it into a movie because there are some really crappy book-to-movie-adaptations out there and I don’t want them to ruin it. Evenso, I want them to try changing Angelfall into something new mainly because it’s about Angels and we need more of that in TV land, but also because it’s badass and action-packed. Like The Darkest Minds, there is so much that producers could do with this series that it’s sad that there isn’t a TV show or a movie already.


And that is the end of my too-long-to-post-all-of-them list of books I’d like to see on the big screen.

What do you think of these possibilities? Do you agree or would you rather rip the book to pieces than watch it transform into a movie?

And what are your choices? Which book-to-movie-adaptations would you like to see?

Let me know in the comments 🙂

With love,
Leanne

 

 

10 thoughts on “Book-to-movie-adaptations

  1. Well Im certainly glad I have some more bookseries to add to my list, so thanks for that. I have to say personally, whilst the TV show of TMI means they get more room to develop things I’ve found it difficult getting past the really hammy acting, its just too american for me. I’ve only managed a few episodes, maybe it gets better?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy to have helped you get to know more bookseries 😀 which ones did you add? *very curious*

      It was really bad in the beginning.. the acting part. And sometimes it still is but it does get better, thankfully 🙂 Hopefully they learn from what they did in s1 and make it even better in s2. AND hopefully they don’t record the whole season at once but just one ep at a time so that they can respond to the feedback they’re being given ^^

      Like

  2. I always try to see the movie/tv-series aside from the book because, let’s be honest here, there’s no way they can put all the details from the books into the movie. Therefor I see on screen media as a sort of alternate universe that adds to the book universe but isn’t the same as it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree with you. There has to be some openmindedness (if that’s a word) towards book-to-movie-adaptations and I’ve learned to do that after the TMI movie. Usually, now, I go to the cinema without any expectations, ready to be surprised by it.

      But I can’t ignore the fact that the movie, with or without having read the book, has to make sense. When they don’t make sense to me, I end up disliking it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think something like Netflix or maybe Showtime/HBO could do a great Raven Cycle tv show. Other channels can sometimes get a little too cheesy with book shows & those books deserve the best!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

