Sarah J. Maas

Throne Of Glass

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?


I’ve been wanting to write reviews on this series for ages but I never really found the right words to describe this in a way it deserves.

But here it goes.

Even though I have come to love this series as much as I love any Cassandra Clare book, the first one, for me personally, wasn’t such an adventure as most of its readers make it out to be on social media. The hype truly undid me. I didn’t think it was that spectaculair.
HOWEVER, when I got to the second part of it I was pleasantly surprised.

Sarah J Maas creates a whole new world for us in this series which requires some world building. She has to create characters, countries, lands, cultural differences/histories and so on and that takes time. Of course it does but I would say that 175 pages long of world-building only, is a bit too exessive for me. It’s the main reason why I put the book on hold for a while just to calm my frustrations and ask people why they liked it so much. I didn’t want to miss out on anything that can be really great and I’m glad I asked around.
People encouraged me to read further and told me things would get better.

AND THEY DID.

In the second part of the book the pace finally picks up and we get deeper into the characters and the grander picture, if you know what I mean. The world does continue to build but that is to be expected of a high fantasy book. The only thing that changed was the amount of world building and overal dragginess of the book. The draggy atmosphere dropped away and I was pulled into the world of Celaena, finally getting on the ride that was Throne Of Glass.

The book is about Celaena Sardothien who is a notorious assassin in Erilea. A year before we begin, she was captured by the King of Adarlan. His son, Dorian, comes to retrieve her from the death camp she’s been send to. He wants her to participate in a game that will decide who’ll become the King’s Champion a.k.a his handy man for all the dirty jobs around Adarlan. During this deadly game of twisted tests, Celaena becomes adjusted at court while getting quite close with Dorian as well. 

Celaena is a very interesting character. She’s very layered and I have a feeling we still haven’t found her core. There’s so much to learn about her that we don’t get to see it this book and that fascinates me.
I was really excited to read from her POV but then she became a bit dull. I expected a bad-ass assassin but instead I got a young girl who likes to play dress up and mess around with Dorian. And for an assassin she is too naïve and too friggin reckless all the time. I mean.. how can you be the world’s most feared assassin when you let yourself get sneaked upon by countless of people?? I just don’t get it.
I really like the fact that she’s so secretive and well-witted but I would have to see more of her to actually come to think she’s the assassin they say she is.

BUT, like I said, there’s still much more to learn about her 🙂

The male lead in this book is Dorian Havilliard. He’s the oldest son of the King and crown prince to Adarlan.
To be honest, I didn’t really like him at first. He’s a womanizer, graced with good looks and fine manners. He was too poised and stiff for me to feel connected to him. His appetite for the female body made it even worse. As a crown prince he’s obligated to interact with the female parties at his home to seem eligible but even that obligation didn’t make me like him.
I don’t hate him or whatever but his willingness to bed any woman who looks at him the right way gave me the chills. So when he fell in love with Celaena all connection I had build up with him kind of dropped away. 

You might think that this book is yet another YA book with a girl and a guy who come to love each other during the main plot but it’s not. As we go deeper into the story we get different POVs. As the reader we get to look at the main plot from different angles.
This is how we get to know Chaol Westfall, the captain of the guard. He is the one who trains Celaena and prepares her for the tests. He’s also the one tasked with protecting Adarlan and its royals from harm. That’s why he’s a little hesitant when it comes to Celaena who remains, above all, an assassin.
Even though Celaena and Dorian is the main ship in this book, I was a hardcore Chaolaena shipper. I was so in love with this character and the chemistry between him and Celaena that all I could do was pray for this ship to become canon and sell my soul to the devil while enjoying the main plot. 

Apart from doing the games Celaena discovers some untold secrets in the castle. These secrets are well hidden and some of them are dangerous when discovered yet Celaena is willing to do anything in order to find out why these secrets are connected to her.

There are so many elements in this first part of the series that’ll leave huge question marks inside your head. They’ll raise questions that you probably won’t get an answer for. Yet. And with that said, I can’t wait for the second novel Crown Of Midnight. 


I rated this book with 3 stars on Goodreads in March 2015. I still stand by that decision even though my liking of the series and the book has changed majorly over the past year. I’m currently waiting for Empire Of Storm to be released later this year.

With love,
Leanne

 

One thought on “Throne Of Glass

Leave a Reply

