Book talk · Tags

#Valentinebooktag

I was nominated by my dear friend Melissa (from Melissasbookworldblog.wordpress.com) to do the #Valentinebooktag. And here it is :p
Now, I don’t really do Valentines. Simply because I’m single and haven’t had a serious relationship in which we shared gifts or anything on Valentine’s day.

*violently wishes Daemon Black would show up on my doorstep with chocolate chip cookies*


 

As far as romance goes, I’m hopeless. I’m the kind of girl who wants to dance in the moonlight, who wants to fall in love slowly but deeply and the kind of girl who wants to do the stuff the couples in books do.
Therefore, my love life is pretty nonexistent.
Not that it matters, I like my life. There’s no room for a boyfriend. For the time being. (Unless you send me a Herondale).

But enough about me. Let’s talk books πŸ™‚
I’ve made a list of my favorite, Valetine-y, books that you might enjoy. I certainly did πŸ˜‰

Easy – Tammara Webber.

Easy was one of the firstΒ contemporary books I read. Because I was mostly into series and trilogies back then, I didn’t really know what to expect.

The story is told from Jacqueline’s (Jackie) point of view and begins right after she’s been dumped by her boyfriend Kennedy. She’s stranded at a college party and because she can’t stand the sight of her ex with other girls, she choses to leave the party early. During the walk to her car, she gets attacked by one of Kennedy’s friends and he attempts to rape her.
Thankfully, he never gets that far. Another boy pulls him off of her and beats him to a pulp. Jacqueline doesn’t know her savior but since he practically saved her life, she lets him drive her home.

It’s the beginning of a love story that will make you laugh, cry and scream. It’s a little heavy due to the rape and the way Lucas helps Jacqueline deal with that but there’s enough airy and fluffy stuff to get by.

*NOTE: do not, I repeat DO NOT approach book two of this series. It’ll ruin the whole thing. Just like Pocahontas II ruined Pocahontas, remember?*


 

The Fallen series – Lauren Kate.

There isn’t a series more romance based than theΒ Fallen series by Lauren Kate. At least, not that I know off.

The series is about Luce who possesses the power to set things on fire. Or so she believes. Thing is… she doesn’t know how, why or how to control it. It just happens whenever she’s put under extreme pressure or stressΒ or whenever she sees the dark cloud-like blobs lurking around.
After she kills a friend in a fire, Luce is send to Sword&Cross, a reform school where she meets Daniel, a guy who seems to know all her secrets but instead of acting like her friend, he does everything possible to make her hate him.

However, the pull she feels toward him is bigger than she has ever felt and Luce is about to find out why she can do what she can and why she’s connected to Daniel.


The Delirium series – Lauren Oliver.

This series is not so much romance but it does revolve around love.

The Delirium series is about a post-apocalyptic world in which love is a forbidden emotion. It’s deleted from your system when you turn a certain age by getting injected with a serum.
Lena is one of those teens waiting to be injected. Unlike many of her peers, she actually wants to get injected. Since the disease took her mother, she wants nothing more than to be set free of love.
But then she meets Alex.
Alex shows her the other side of the emotion. He lets her see with different colors for a change and it changes her. Instead of fearing love, Lena realizes it’s the one thing that made her mother so close to her. And before she knows it, her heart belongs to Alex and her life is in danger.


 

And that’s it. It’s a small list -a very small list- but, like I said, I’m not really into Valentine’s or over-the-top romantic books. I do enjoy a love story but I get bored easily if it’s the main plot.

What are you guys doing for Valentine’s? Do you have a date? Or are you going to watch some Netflix? Enjoy the day surrounded by fictional characters…. like me *whoops*

With love,
Leanne

Leave a Reply

