Jennifer Niven

All The Bright Places

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.
 
This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.


 

There’s so much I want to say about this book. All of them good things. I love this book so, so much and it’s very dear to me. It’s changed me in more ways I thought possible. Jennifer Niven is a genius. A talented writer to the point where I just want to bow down and applaud her because… because she understands.

Initially, I thought this was going to be another story about a depressed guy who gets saved by the girl of his dreams and they life happily ever after but it’s not. It’s everything BUT that cliche of a storyline. Jennifer kept surprising me, turn after turn.
Okay… the book is about a guy and a girl who fall in love but certainly not in the way I expected them to.

All The Bright Places is told from two different POVs. One is Finch. A dreamy, all-over-the-place philosopher who spends his time waiting for reasons to keep breathing.
The other is Violet. She’s very logical and static in her way of life. Due to a car crash that cost the life of her sister, Violet tends to have a gloomy view on life. Sometimes, she even wishes it was over. Not in the sense of life being over but the days of grief and sadness. She can’t wait to get passed that.

What’s truly impressive about this book, is the way Jennifer weaves the worlds of both characters together. She manages to describe a depression (bipolar disorder) in the way Finch behaves, thinks and speaks. His character development throughout the book is major and deep. It’s so incredibly well-detailed that someone who has no idea what depression means will come to understand.
The same goes for Violet. She’s got depressed moods but you can spot the differences between her moods and those of Finch’s. And the way they change each other is amazing.
It broke my heart to see them come to their selfs whenever they were around each other.
On their journey to discover the wonders of the state, they get to know each other better and better until there’s a pull between them that kick-starts a relationship.

But, as the synopsis says. As Violet’s world gets bigger and her future bright, Finch’s world turns smaller and more suffocating. To read about that is heartbreaking. Because you know. You know something’s wrong. That someone needs to help him but there’s only so much a person can do.


 

I give this book 5 stars. I can’t stop saying it’s incredible and beautiful. It’s definitely not a light read but worth it all the same.

Jennifer Niven, you are a genius!

With love,
Leanne

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s