Victoria Averyard

Glass Sword.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.
The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.
Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.
But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?


First of all, I want to talk about the cover of this book. Since its mind-blowing amazingness (if that’s even a word) is too much to leave it unnnoticed.

I mean… LOOK AT IT. It’s incredibly detailed and it fits perfectly with the tone of the book. There’s a crown, similar to the one on the cover of Red Queen. I suppose, unlike Red Queen, this crown belongs to the king (whereas the first cover crown belonged to Mareena/Mare).
But what’s even more impressive is the fact that there’s two sets of blood dripping from the crown.
There’s silver blood dripping from the sides while red blood mixed with silver drips from the middle.
Of course it represents both Cal and Mare. Both bleed for their cause.

The sub titel Kneel or bleed took my breath away. It’s creepy as well as thrilling. I didn’t know what the hell I was getting into with this part of the series since the last book didn’t really end in a cliffhanger. So when I read that subtitel… well, it scared the crap out of me.

“A jet overhead sweeps by, its wings almost scraping the tip of a nearby ruin. It’s so close. Too close. I can feel its electric heart, its whirring engines somehow keeping it aloft. I reach for it as best I can, like I have so many times before. Like the lights, like the cameras, like every wire and circuit since I became the lightning girl, I take hold of it-and shut it off

The quote above is my top favorite from the book. It had me by my ancles and swept me off my feet while blowing my mind and heart to pieces out of excitement. I was feeling badass, Mare was acting badass and things were going down *bouncing in my seat*
I was sooooo pumped up due to that quote that couldn’t stop reading until it was 4am and my eyes felt like sandpaper.

I couldn’t stop because there was never a good time to stop. Okay.. there were some dull moments but overall it was pretty action-packed. And Mare… oh poor Mare. I really felt for her. Because of what happened to her in the previous book, she shuts herself off from everything and everyone. Even her brother and best friend. The way she acts, too, is cold and sneering. Like a queen.. a bitch-queen.

And she knows it all too well.

Her character development in this book is fantastic. It’s a little drastic at first but since she went through a major traumatizing event (remember the Bowl of Bones?) I’ll forgive her for that. Mare is an extreme in Glass Sword. She either commands like a queen or cowers like a dog. There’s really no in between. There’s no grey in her world at the moment, only black and white. And that’s scary as hell. Mare is scary as hell!!
She turns onto a dark and twisted road. One she doesn’t get off of before it’s too late.
My heart simply broke for her. Time and time again. That’s the beauty of this book. Even though the main character is as wicked as it gets, you feel for her. You feel as if you’re Kilorn or Cal. You just want to take Mare by the shoulders and shake some sense into her but you can’t.
It’s frustrating. Sometimes irritating to the point of putting the book down and never picking it up again. But it’s worth it. It’s worth to stick by Mare and watch her change in the end. She does come to her senses. She does leave that dark road, and she does make the right choices. For someone who has been hurt and betrayed time and time again, that makes me proud. She finally realizes that she can’t protect everyone while protecting herself.

That’s why I love her so much.

“Anyone can betray anyone”

Even though Glass Sword is a book of almost 450 pages, not much happens in the book. The story that Victoria tells in this installment is a little stretched. The original quest (searching newbloods and saving them from Maven) isn’t the main plot, which surprised me. It seemed like such an important thing at the end of Red Queen. They do go and search for them but the process of finding them is written in a fast-forward style.
Luckily, we do get to see some of the search-and-rescue but because they’re the only ones that get into detail, you know that shit’s about to happen.

Cal’s with them too. As much as I felt bad for Mare, I felt a thousand times stronger for him. Poor guy has been stripped of his title, branded as a murderer, kicked out of his home, hunted by his family and men, and to make matters even worse, he’s stuck with people who don’t share the color of his blood nor his ideals. Intead they hate him.
And Mare, the only link he has, choses to walk away from most of it to deal with her own stuff.
It’s a shame that you don’t get to see his POV. I would love to see what goes on in his mind. What he must think of everything and how he deals with all the choices they make for him. He never leaves them, although Mare thinks he will every given chance, but fights for them. Yet, he doesn’t think himself a rebel.
He’s fiercely protective of Mare, yet he doesn’t show it. Instead he mimics her behavior and choses to stay at the sidelines. There’s so much conflict there. I just crave to know what makes him act that way.

*looks at you Victoria and begs for a Cal POV in the third book*

Anyway, I really really loved this book. It’s definitely worth reading. It’s dark and moody but also witty, active and overall badass. It’s mind-blowing and thrilling but also sad to the point of crying your eyes out and ripping your heart to shreds. Especially in the end. Holy hell, I’m still crying over that ending. That cruel, so-not-necessary ending that, okay.. I saw it coming for a while since every favorite character of mine gets hurt or killed, drove me to face-plant myself and scream into my pillow.

Worth it, though.

With love,
Leanne

Leave a Reply

