Sabaa Tahir

An Ember In The Ashes

“Life is made of so many moments that mean nothing. Then one day, a single moment comes along to define every second that comes after. Such moments are tests of courage, of strength.”

PictureThis book suddenly popped up everywhere I went. It was on goodreads, on tumblr, on facebook and on twitter. Everyone I knew was obsessed with it or in the process of reading it.

So, obviously, I couldn’t stay behind. Together with a couple of friends of mine, we started reading An Ember In The Ashes and most of us fell in love right away.
I’m sad to say, that wasn’t the case for me. I couldn’t get attached to the characters. Nor did I fall into the story as easily but I kept on reading. And I’m glad I did.

Once I fell into the story, I practically devoured the pages and sped through the novel within no time.

A short synopsis.
An Ember In The Ashes tells us the story of Elias and Laia. Elias is a well-trained soldier who is nearing his graduation from military school. During his last days in school he’s faced with a championship. Elias has to participate in a bloody and deadly set of tests to determine whether he’s fit to be the new Emporer. And because he’s the very best, people are mostly rooting for him but Elias has other plans. He wants nothing more than to be free of everything and everyone. All he wants is to flee the school and find true freedom somewhere else.
Laia is a slave of the Empire and we meet her just before her brother gets arrested for treason. Laia manages to escape the same fate but instead of finding freedom, she’s met with chains of guilt. In order to save her brother she turns to the rebellion. They offer a willing hand BUT she has to work as a spy for them in return. They want Laia to spy on the Colonel, a fierce and heartless woman who’s notorious for abusing slaves and driving them mad.

During the story, the book changes POV between Elias and Laia. I really love that the book does that. If you were to read only from Laia’s POV, you would miss important details. Same goes for Elias. It’s also fun to read from their switched POV’s whenever they meet in the story. You don’t only get to read about Elias being affected by Laia’s beauty BUT about Laia being swayed by him as well. Picture

I particularly liked the scene where they were in town, with the festival. Laia didn’t recognize Elias at all but the reader knows it’s him because we’ve read from his POV. And we all know why he’s there … *hehe*

I really really came to like this book, in the end. And I do recommend it to anyone who asks me for recommendations. It deserves the hype and I can’t wait for book two.

 

Leave a Reply

